We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coppice Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Coppice Guest House to your Saves list
The Coppice Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Skelmersdale, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from a weekend break from the Coppice, we stayed in the cosy room which was as expected cosy. Yes the bathroom is small but for a 2 night stay it serves its purpose. Everywhere nice clean and tidy, breakfast very nice and we would gladly return and recommend this place. Also please do call into the local working mans club which is a nice,clean place and you won't be ripped off for your beer like you will in other Windermere pubs - it,s on the doorstep of the coppice just turn right up towards Windermere and you will find it on the RH side you can't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments we both really do appreciate them.. We are so pleased you also tried and enjoyed the complimentary SPA club membership we have at the Old England Hotel in Bowness and you enjoyed some of the local walks. It will be lovely to welcome you back anytime, please call us.
Thank you Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    46
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Everything was great. Comfy beds, open fire, lovely breakfast, great location and free entry to the spa at a nearby hotel. There was even sherry in the room on the first night and the option of kippers or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon for breakfast, as well as the traditional full English (which was also very tasty).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

my partner brought this for me as a surprise xmas prezzie,our 1st weekend away without our boys!!we stayed for 2nights the bedroom was lovely and clean and the spa bath went down a treat,a great way to de-stress.we used the swimming pool twice during our stay,WOW.an absolutely fantastic pool and saunas.barbara and chris both made us feel very welcome.the choice at breakfast is fantastic.great location for walking to windermere or bowness.the weather was very kind to us,no rain during our stay so we managed plenty of walking.would recommend this bed and breakfast hotel.thankyou for our enjoyable weekend.im sure we,l be returning soon!x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for a great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your surprise break with us. we do strive to make everyone's stay with us as enjoyable and as special as we can. We get lots of comments about our cleanliness and breakfasts and again we do try to make it a special time as it is the last thing you remember on the day you have to depart and we hope it makes you want to return again and again. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here with my partner between Christmas and New Year. So perfectly located for both Windermere and Bowness. A nice walking distance to both if the weather holds up, unfortunately we didn't have such luck!

A cute little place run by the lovely and hospitable Barbara and Chris. Each room has its own personality. We opted for Room 5 with the whirlpool bath, which was perfect for the horrible wet Winter weather outside, especially with a nice bottle of red!

Breakfast here is absolutely superb; all local produce. It's hard to stray from a full English!

If you're in the area I would definitely recommend The Coppice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi thanks for your wonderful comments about the Coppice. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed having you stay with us. The SPA bath is definitely a hit with all of our guests and it a lovely time with all the Christmas decorations up and the twinkling Trees. Sorry we couldn't fix the weather, perhaps next time..
Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Barbara and Chris made us very welcome at the new year. We stayed with them for 2 nights the bedroom was well kept welcoming and we enjoyed the nice touches that greeted us when we arrived. The food was excellent. And we would recommend this bed and breakfast hotel. Good food, good company and fireworks at midnight great break thoroughly enjoyed

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
So very pleased to have you stay with us. Barbara and I enjoy being able to help you enjoy your stay with us and it makes our day when you take the time to write a review. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

me and my husband went to the coppice hotel in windermere booked in on sat 29th of december until the 2nd of jan the hotel was booked through booking .com which i have used many times the room had been booked 10 months in advance we had booked the standarnd room wel what can i say the room was an attick room very small then we saaw the bathroom my husband is a mesium size man and when he sat on the loo his face was in the sink the shower cubickle he could not turn round in it no sheves for soap so they were placed on the shower floor i am a slim person and i had trouble with the loo i asked the following day if we could be moved got no joy so we booked out after 2 days because we could not stand it any longer the owners sais they call the room cosy i call ita hobit room so please save your money and dont book you will be dissappointed as we were it is not cheap

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
At the Coppice we offer a choice of bedroom types from our ONE smallest Standard room - a cosy double, up to kings, 4 posters and a Deluxe double with a Spa bath. The Cosy double is our smallest room on the second floor, well insulated, warm and cosy in winter, with room to walk round the bed and a sitting area. (Bedroom 7 picture on our website). The shower cubicle is 720cm square and you do not sit with your face in the sink - but it is not spacious. (All the measurements are on the booking.com website).
For their 4 night stay they were paying £68 per night for 2 people Bed and a great breakfast, including our complimentary SPA club membership nearby at a deluxe 4 star Hotel. The lady came to see us on the second day, she said because she had booked over 11 months in advance she expected to get one of our better rooms (but still pay £68 per night). We said we were very sorry but as it was New years Eve we were full and could not change their room. We offered them a bottle of fizzy for that night, we would upgrade them to a 4 poster the following night and not charge them for the 4th remaining nights stay. She took the wine then 1/2 hour later left. We did charge for the New Years Eve night, but promised, it would be refunded if we re-let the room. We re- let the room for 2 nights an hour later to a passing couple, So we gave them a full refund to her card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURNLEY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at the Coppice for a 2 day birthday treat in late December & was not dissapointed. Lovely clean well appointed B & B ideally situated. The breakfast was excellent & the evening meals were superb. Many thanks to Barbara & Chris for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coppice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice Guest House

Address: Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Lake District stone & style, The Coppice, once a Windermere Vicarage retains all its character and charm. Sitting quietly in an elevated position between the villages of Windermere and Bowness, our Guesthouse is perfectly placed for touring or walking in the Lake District National Park.The all en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed so each has its own distinctive feel and our renowned Lake District breakfast is sourced from local produce and is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Coppice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppice Guest House Hotel Windermere
The Coppice Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coppice Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.