We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, nice staff, ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glen Rothay Hotel to your Saves list
Glen Rothay Hotel
Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great spot, nice staff, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We called into the Badger Bar initially just for a drink to break up a walk but ended up staying for Sunday lunch. I was with my partner and my mum and dad. The pub is set in idyllic surroundings and is cosy and traditional inside (although my partner felt it was really dated). The staff are very welcoming and the service is quick and friendly but the food is average. We all had Sunday roasts and they were ok but nothing special (although they do serve fresh vegetables which made a change from the tinned/frozen stuff you get served in most pubs). However, me and mum shared an ice cream dessert which was delicious.... we loved the apple crumble and bakewell tart flavours.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    83
    25
    19
    12
See reviews for
34
132
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aboyne, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a beautiful spot and the staff worked hard to makes us feel at home which makes writing this really difficult. We stayed 3 nights recently but may not have done had it not been for the warm welcome and the great little bar that minded neither dirty walkers or our dog. It is also the case that relocating with our small dog was proving to be impossible (we did try).

The main hotel is very tired and the smell of cooking oil hits you like a brick when you walk in. We were comfortable and heaps of hot water but the room rates are way too high for the quality on offer. The food is also pricey for what it is. Stick to the soups, the Chilli and the puddings. The Beer on the other hand is terrific and hit the spot after a long days walking.

This place has so much potential especially in this amazing location. Let's hope it gets the face lift it so badly needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SN12
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Food in Badger bar very overpriced for the quality, went for Sunday lunch have not seen food this quality since 1970s served in a pub.Do not recomend.
Hotel looks very tired, check carefully before you book there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Lake District
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I always hesitate when writing something BAD. After all, there's loads of people that SWOON over the place; come back year-after-year.

My definition of "Bad" is aimed at the general market for what is "Good", rather than the crowd that adore scratching, smelly, farting dogs round the fire of the Badger Bar ... and savour the odour of a really filthy carpet. If you tick 'success' to a Gents that might as well be one of the beers on offer because it's so close to the action - get in there and LOVE IT!

This is one of those strange Cumbrian success stories: it looks lovely, situated perfectly ... and then the reality. It's a fetid dump: like around 60% of Lake District places to stay, drink, eat.

WHY DO THEY DO THIS TO US??

The place could be marvellous. The bar staff are the Staff of Life (I mean that: they are really nice, very experienced blokes) ... the beers are excellent ... but if you are booking, unseen, on the Net, and have travelled from Surrey, or the Hook of Holland: you might be horrified, your wife in tears, your kids wearing gas masks.

As for the dining room ... I never went further than the glass panelled door.

Need I say more?

But I have supped my pint there [Badger Bar] amongst Lakeland disciples - good time had by all ... if you relish that rotting-meat stench of wet walking gear - and the rest of the Lake District Five Star Image ... DON'T LISTEN TO ME!! Book three weeks.

Be careful, tourists from afar. The prices are high, the standards are low: and THEY COULDN'T GIVE A DAMN.

That, in my book, is worth complaining about.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Booked to saty here for 2 nights on spec, we were upgraded to a fab room, they catered brilliantly for my wheat free needs, going above and beyond what was required, the food was great, the beers well kept and a great choice, nothing was too much trouble :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We visited the hotel over the christmas period and had a good stay. Upon arrival we were taken to our room and there was a sewage smell. We went out for the day and when returned later in the day the smell had become worse so we went to the bar and explained it. We were moved to the most expensive suite (as all that was left). It was a fantastic size and we had a big four poster bed, corner bath and a sitting area. It was clean but unfortunately some areas of the room needed updating/replacing. The bathroom has carpet in it which had large stains on it (it was like the colour had faded out so probably bleach) and wallpaper was coming off the wall in lots of places. Had we of paid the full price of this room we would have been unhappy. The bar is a great area and we sat by the open fire and played scrabble (provided by them). The staff are very helpful and friendly and we were moved without any hesitation from the first smelly room, although one member of staff felt we could have stayed in the smelly room as it was probably from spilled milk (more like a blocked drain) personally feel the hotel relies on wonderful suroundings and not trying to impress with the decore and finishes of the hotel.

Room Tip: needs updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great to see local establishment genuinely interested in the area's wildlife. Excellent veggie breakfasts on request. Badgers forever.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and fell views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Rothay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.