We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay right in Penrith centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandelhow Guest House

Brandelhow Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brandelhow Guest House to your Saves list
Brandelhow Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 75 Penrith B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay right in Penrith centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

As a family of 4 we had a big room with all you could want. Breakfast was fantastic with a nice mix of the traditional cooked "full monty" alongside more healthy yet yummy options. The hosts are very friendly and will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
27
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yehud, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

traveling with 3 young kids and finding rooms that could accommodate all of us comfortably, was no small task. At Lanie and Mels we were greeted with tea and cakes, had a wonderful room, large, lush and luxurious, and most importantly - huge smiles and endless help, recommendations and answers to all our questions (and the most delicious breakfast!). We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Lanie and Mel are wonderful hosts. Immaculate B&B, everything you could want is here. Breakfast was delicious and so much to choose from, all local produce too. We stayed in the family room and we were very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here and would definitely stay here again. Congratulations to Lanie and Mel for creating a wonderful atmosphere and supporting your local community.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Met by Mel and Lanie with hot tea, coffee and home made cakes. Fabulous rooms, comfy beds, big white towels and robes - much needed after completing first day of coast to coast bike challenge. Breakfast was brilliant and so much choice !! All bikes well secured by Mel. I would highly recommend this b+b to everyone not just to coast to coasters!!

Room Tip: Our party took up most of the hotel and all the rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived on a very nasty wet evening having driven up from the Midlands through driving rain. Seven ladies with their bikes, about to do the coast to coast from Whitehaven to Tynemouth. Mel was waiting on the doorstep for us, and whisked us inside to enjoy hot tea and home made cakes. It was just the welcome we needed after such a horrible journey. The house is quite traditional and our bedroom was lovely and large, with everything thought of, and everything beautifully clean. The location of Brandelhow is very convenient, and we were able to park just outside. Breakfast was really lovely, and included some freshly prepared fruit, and an excellent choice of cooked breakfasts, and home baked bread. One of our group needed a gluten free option, and this was not a problem at all. Mel and Lanie are a great team, and they deserve top marks for the way they run Brandelhow. I would absolutely stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: All three rooms I saw seemed very nice. We stayed in the room at the front, which was really large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Lanie & Mel could not do more to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Their attention to detail is second to none and they deserve every success. I will definitely be staying there again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

we recently spent two nights here and were made to feel valued.
On arrival we were served tea and cakes which y house is verwas very welcome after a long journey from wales.
The breakfasts were excellent and very good choice. We were spoilt as the beds were comfortable and enormous. The guest house was situated near town an in a quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brandelhow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandelhow Guest House

Address: 1 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandelhow Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its beautiful elegance, comfort and excellent food, we invite you to come and stay in our award winning traditional Victorian Townhouse, which has been completely refurbished and now offers 5 luxury rooms. Our breakfast, Cream Tea, High Tea and packed lunch menus have been designed and developed using local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Brandelhow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandelhow Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandelhow Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.