We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bank House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bank House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Graham Street, Penrith CA11 9LE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 78 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet location - no noise front or back except for a rattling window which I fixed with some paper.
Nice, clean sheets and towels.
Lovely breakfasts and good strong coffee (as requested).
Nice friendly owners - very helpful with maps etc.
it's a long walk up a steep hill from town - I like this but Penrith is a hilly town - 15 or 20 mins walk from the station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    33
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
98
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. A great end to a six day walking tour and the cup of tea with cake served to me when I arrived was a welcome treat...especially in the relaxing setting of the tea/breakfast room which overlooks the wonderful garden and Penrith below.
The room and bed was very comfortable and amenities exactly what I needed. Even though there were at least four others staying over the night I was there I wasn't aware of them. We met over breakfast.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A great place to stay! The room was beyond our expectations. The furniture was well-thought and period specific. The breakfast was delicious especially thf porridge with the maple syrup. In the breakfast room there is a table with great views. Wake up early if you want to have great views of Penrith. We will come back and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night stopping on the way from London to Scotland.
The house is decorated in traditional English coutry style and is a true gem.
The owners were extremely friendly going out of their way to help us plan our trip and give advice.
We followed their advice on a hike near lake Ullswater around Howtown which was great.
Breakfast was simply superb! Food and settings.
It is truly a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful house with amazing views . We stayed in the king size room , beautifully decorated with the comfiest of beds . The town is 5/10 min walk away . Best choice of breakfast of any where we have stayed , all locally sourced produce . They cannot do enough for you , will most definatley be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princetown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We gathered from Canada, Devon, York and Poulton and took over the whole house for a long weekend. It was absolutely perfect. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean , the beds extremely comfortable and the toiletries were lovely. On arrival there was freshly brewed coffee and homemade cake - in fact every day there was another of Sarahs delicious cakes - freshly baked and sitting invitingly on the side board. And as for the breakfasts ...... some of the best I have had anywhere. The only difficulty was trying to decide what to have. I have never in my life tasted porridge like it and that was just the second course ( the first being a fresh fruit salad). Follow that with a Full English, or fresh haddock or smoked salmon or pretty much anything you fancied, cereals, homemade breads etc and you can see why we never needed lunch ! The house is perfectly located for a wander into town or to drive out and explore the glorious countryside.Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and we all felt totally at home. The weekend was just what the family needed and we look forward to returning next year. Thank you :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbolzheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed five nights in Bank House and were amazed at how good a B&B could be. Although a short distance from the town centre, everything we wanted to do was manageable. We have never before been offered such a choice for breakfast in an English B&B. The locally-sourced breakfast was superb and offered an extensive choice for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike, with excellent local produce. Our room was delightful and beautifully furnished. Sarah was very friendly and a mine of local information. She went out of her way to give us tips, advise us on the best way to catch the Carlisle-Settle railway (without a car) etc.etc. She also offered us yummy cake on arrival, which was a very nice touch, and we could also get fresh jugs of milk to make tea/coffee in our room. We would gladly return to Bank House - it was everything a B&B should be!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Graham Street, Penrith CA11 9LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bank House is a beautiful period house with Victorian terraced gardens situated on a quiet street in the lovely town of Penrith. All our rooms are elegantly decorated with double sized showers in our wood paneled en-suites. Our breakfast uses fresh local and fair trade produce and try to cater for. We have Freeview TV in all rooms and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Bank House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Bed And Breakfast Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.