We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in beautiful countryside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edenhall Country Hotel

Save Saved
You added Edenhall Country Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edenhall Country Hotel
Edenhall, Penrith CA11 8SX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Penrith
Wigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in beautiful countryside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for one night at this excellent hotel set in very nice gardens, the owners were very welcoming. The room was very comfortable with a king size bed and new furnishings, the bathroom was lovely with a great shower. A nice touch was a heater and a fan in the room, although both the room and bathroom had central heating for colder months.
We were served a very well cooked substantial breakfast which we really enjoyed..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    6
    11
    3
See reviews for
7
28
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night as a group of about 40. We were doing The C2C as a charity cycle ride. We were given a very warm welcome and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had been recently refurbished , and it was lovely. The room was also spotlessly clean. Decor was v nice, and the bathroom had a new suite and fully tiled. Food was v nice, and the staff coped well with service or dinner and service for our big party. The hotel gardens are lovely, and the surrounding countryside is beautiful and very relaxing. A perfect stop over for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel, with great character and charm. It was cosy and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 3 which was newly refurbished and was perfect. Lovely stay and would highly recommend !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well, I think I must have visited a different hotel to the one most reviews suggest. This was a decidedly mediocre night's stay. We were in a room (Room 1) which was in need of updating / renovation. A number of damp patches on the wall and a generally tired look to the room.
Food was poor, crispy belly pork had a flabby skin (both of us had this so it was no one off) and the vegetables were underdone.
The barman was less than knowledgeable. We had a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon which was OKish and I went to the bar for another, he gave me a bottle with a different coloured label which, when I got back to the table, turned out to be a bottle of Merlot (which had already been opened and a glass taken out of it). This was changed when I took it back to the bat - no apology.
Breakfast orders were both slightly wrong, but at least the breakfast was cooked to order.
We may have been unlucky, but we've chalked this one down to experience!

Room Tip: Don't have room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We travelled down Edenhall from Aberdeen to meet my family who came up from York & Hull which was a nice meeting place for both parties to drive to.We was greeted by chickhens in the carpark.... We were there to celebrate my Mum's 80th birthday, we rented the apartment for 3 days which sleeps 6, which turned out to be home from home, and it was nicely furnished, roomy, with its own garden which was ideal for mum’s & our dog. The food in the hotel was good, with a nice bar both very reasonably priced, Both Wayne & Paula and their staff were very friendly & helpful. The hotel is 15mins drive from Ullswater, and also has its own nice 3 mile walk right outside the hotel which goes down to the river Eden and back around to the Edenhall again. We would defiantly stay there again......Dave & Alyson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Really lovely helpful staff, and the best meal I've eaten out for a very long time. Had a hot chocolate in the bar before bed and got a pot of it - 3 cupfuls! Really good value too - will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the far end of the top floor - perfect, really good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a lovely night stay at Edenhall Hotel while visiting the area for the Marmalade Awards. Great to find a hotel with a real heart and modern upgrading to the rooms make it fantastic value for money. We enjoyed the home cooking, bar meals and breakfast were excellent. Not far from Penrith and M6 and definately worth taking the time to drive the few miles to stay here. Will be returning to this base on next visit to Cumbria, so much to see and do. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edenhall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenhall Country Hotel

Address: Edenhall, Penrith CA11 8SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Edenhall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenhall Country
Edenhall Country Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenhall Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.