We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayfarers Independent Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wayfarers Independent Hostel to your Saves list
Wayfarers Independent Hostel
19 Brunswick Square, Penrith CA11 7LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a couple of nights there it's easy to see why this hostel has so many 5 star reviews.

Very clean and tidy, friendly staff, comfy beds already made for us (a very nice change from the YHA), great kitchen facilities. You really couldn't ask for more.


(And for anyone wanting a cooked breakfast, the cafe at Booths supermarket up the road opens at 7am I think, though we went at 8).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our group of 13 arrived for an overnight stay on our C2C journey and found a lovely, well-equipped hostel. The bike storage is convenient - and has tools too. The rooms are ensuite - and the showers were very good! The team running the Wayfarers Hostel were very helpful with directions as well as recommendations of restaurants for our large party. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisbrough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely staff. Brilliant bike store with any tool you might need. Drying room that actually gets your stuff dry overnight. Clean facilities. En-suite bathrooms amazing for the price, with really good hot mira showers. We had two rooms of 4 and each room was a decent size (almost as big as the room we had for 8 the following night).
Breakfast was relaxed help yourself style - don't be put off by the fact that there is no full English - there is more than enough cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, toast and other goodies to fill you up. Kitchen facility is brilliant - just help yourself to tea/coffee whenever. Little touches like a towel rail at the end of each bunk proves these people knew what they were doing when they designed it.
My only concern is that it is always going to be fully booked as it is so lovely and word will get out. Could you buy the house over the road too please!
Brilliant value and it really is as good as it looks in the photos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hostel is outstanding, Mark and his family provide a fantastic place to stay in close proximity to the centre of Penrith, nothing is too much trouble for them. The hostel is exceptionally clean with some excellent and tasteful décor. The kitchen and dining area are well equipped, spacious and again immaculate. I would recommend this place before a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banwell, Somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

In a class of its own. New owners have done a great job with fab facilities, lovely decor/taste, and brilliant personal service. Bikers very welcome with locked store and drying room. Very smart kitchen facilities with free tea/coffee! Ideally placed for CTC and End to End rides.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Wayfarers is a total bargain! Clean and comfortable with its own fab wet room, my twin room was just perfect. The dining room was large and well equipped and the lounge comfy and welcoming. The place is new and has been carefully designed to accomodate your every need. The owners are friendly and have got it all covered, from Wi-fi to towels to comfy beds. Go now, before everyone else discovers it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night while passing through during our coast to coast adventure with a couple of mates.

The hostel has great secure bike storage facilities, and a whole collection of tools for any bike maintenance needed.
The rooms are so spacious and clean! We stayed in a room which had two bunk beds and an en suite. Since there was three of us we had the room to ourselves!
The beds are so ridiculously comfy, I've never had a better nights sleep.
A continental breakfast was provided in the morning which you could help yourself to in the kitchen, which again looked brand new are very well equipped!
Could not believe how cheap this place is for a night considering the facilities.

This is a must stop for any bikers looking for a place to stay for the night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wayfarers Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarers Independent Hostel

Address: 19 Brunswick Square, Penrith CA11 7LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run independent hostel in Penrith, Cumbria, right on the C2C cycle route and the edge of the Lake District National Park. We offer excellent value hostel style accommodation with 16 beds spread over 4 rooms. With indoor cycle storage, drying room, lounge and full kitchen facilities we are an ideal place to stay for individuals, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Wayfarers Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayfarers Independent Hostel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayfarers Independent Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.