We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lemon Tree Cafe - Bistro

The Lemon Tree Cafe - Bistro
Devonshire Arcade | Devonshire Street, Penrith, England
+44 1768 864110
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 133 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: British, Café, Bistro, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Food quality great nice flavours portions a bit small everyone quoted, staff not very attentive customer care course maybe.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My Husband and I ate here today, we have just moved to Cumbria and it was our first trip to Penrith. I am coeliac, lactose intolerant and vegetarian so I find it difficult to find places to eat. We walked into the arcade where this lovely little cafe is situated just having a look around not expecting to be able to find anywhere to eat.

We were greeted by a lovely man who was co-owner with his wife and he was so helpful and basically would have cooked me anything I required. The menu is excellent and there were a lot of options including gluten free, vegetarian etc etc.

I opted for a gluten free, lactose free veggie club sandwich which had hummus, roasted peppers and herby tomatoes, it was delicious. The gluten free bread was excellent and tasted homemade rather than the homogenous varieties that you can get in a supermarket. My husband had the cheese savoury sandwich and we both shared a large bowl of home made chunky chips. With tea and fresh coffee the bill was £16 which we thought was very reasonable for the quality of food that we were served.

The service, quality and ambiance of the cafe was lovely, it was very calm, friendly and we will certainly be returning and using this cafe as one of regular haunts when we head to Penrith shopping.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Ham sandwich was absolutely divine and the surroundings of the cafe very inviting. Friendly service and good value for money.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Food at The Lemon Tree is consistently good. The service is polite and friendly. The prices are fair. I eat here fairly often and have nothing bad to say. I've only eaten at lunchtimes but would have no hesitation in visiting for an evening meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A bit of an identity crisis...cafe or bistro?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Visited yesterday on my way through Penrith with my wife for morning coffee. The coffee was very good and very reasonably priced. We liked it so much that we returned later and had coffee with a cheese scone and lemon drizzle cake. Unfortunately the scone did not match the quality of the coffee and the cake was possibly the smallest portion I have had for a long time. There were some meals on offer which I felt fell within the bounds of traditional cafe fare but short of what I would expect to find in a good bistro. However, it would appear to be popular with local shoppers as it was quite busy. The service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree Cafe - Bistro also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to The Lemon Tree Cafe - Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lemon Tree Cafe - Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.