We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Plaza

Indian Plaza
45 Middlegate, Penrith, England
01768-86-55-66
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 133 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“nice experience for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had heard horror stories regarding slow service some of our friends have experienced here during busy times (although we always heard the food was good) which put us off trying the restaurant until last night. We went early and were only the second couple in at 6:30pm on Saturday evening. The decor was nice, nice lighting and music, friendly staff. Be advised though it is very large inside, so it's unlikely to give you that intimate cosy experience if that's what you're after. The menu looked great and all the food we ordered was top quality and served in a timely manner on hot plates, despite the pressure of quite a few carry-outs being collected (20% discount for take-outs). I would definately rate it as above-average for food quality of this type based on our experience. I like the bottled Cobra beer, but there didn't seem to be any draft lagers at the bar if you prefer the more traditional draft lagers. This place would suit large groups well. I think it sits over a 100. Prices were equal to other similar restaurants and we will go there again for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Personally, the food is great! However, speaking as a previous local the building shouldn't of been turned into a restaurant. The room is very large and even when it is busy there is little atmosphere and there are tonnes of waiters, I think too many! But can't complain about the food!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagdad, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bit lacking in service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

went their 12/12/2012 for meal with a friend whist visiting penrith found it hard to place my order as they did not speak very good english when my meal turned up is was cold and i think the onion badges were frozen beer was ok toilets clean thats all i can say perhaps they should consentrate on customers and not playing on their phones???

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bagdad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Worst ever indian food i have had.Saw the trip advisor reviews and thought it would be good.Waited over an hour for our starters,which were cold when they came.The food wasnt that good and tasted bland,When we complained they pretended not to understand what we were saying so we just got up and left after paying for the starters grudginly.Decided to go to Angel Lane Chippy instead which was warm and inviting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A meal to remember with pleasure...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Upon arrival we were promptly seated, in a very pleasant, clean and peaceful, warm atmosphere.

Menu's were duly provided, which contained an extensive, clearly set out list of dishes.

The staff were attentive and quick to react to our requests.

The dishes duly arrived and were eaten with relish...nothing was left on our plates !

Due to the space available, even at full capacity, this establishment should retain it's cosy atmosphere.

A very enjoyable experience and one we will be keen to repeat soon.

Our thanks to the staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Plaza also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 
Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Indian Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.