We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Lane Chippie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Angel Lane Chippie
17 Angel Lane, Penrith, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 133 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I went to Angel Lane Recently and the staff we exemplary absolutely faultless..... the elderly lady upstairs was brilliant to chat to with a lot of local knowledge... the only fault is the fact that she didn't leave us alone to eat our food in peace....... the staff downstairs were simply superb... I think the chef/cook was named Tom.... he was brilliant an amazing knowledge of the fish and other choices on the menu including the location and he could recommend places to eat away from the café if we wanted to eat outside...... the lady on the counter was very chatty and friendly we were made to feel right at home ... nothing we asked for was a problem in fact my elderly father even got a hand in and out of the door by the staff.... I can not recommend Angel Lane Chippie enough..... thank you for an amazing meal and lovely service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food ok but staff need a few tips on manners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this chippie twice on our visits to Penrith
The food is ok but have had better in lesser places.
We had our dog with us so we had to wait for an outside table as there are only two .
We ordered food and drinks which we were quite happy with and spent nearly ten pounds.
We asked if they had a toilet facility and the girl directed us upstairs .... The guy I met on the stairs was quite rude when I said I was just looking for the toilet....... ."
"It's only for cafe customers "was his reply .
"But we are eating outside cos we have the dog "I said.
"Only for cafe customers "was his curt reply and he disappeared .
I was fuming at his attitude .
Needless to say we will not be going there again.
The food is overrated and we did not like the discrimination.
We could have had a plate of chips each upstairs and been allowed to wash our hands. ....spend a tenner outside and you get nowt ..except rudeness.
In fact the rubbish bin outside was overflowing too ... They wouldn't have the rubbish off their own tables...we had to look for a council provided bin.
They can whistle for custom from us now.
My party of pensioners for next weekend will go elsewhere .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Enjoyed the fish and chips which were reasonably priced. We ate in the cafe up the stairs, the floor had the remnants of an earlier diner's meal but to be fair it was late in the day and they were still busy so can forgive them this time! The waitress was pleasant and the service was quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good quality chippie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Twice had haddock and chips to eat at the table outside on alternate evenings, so obviously wasn't that bad.

Not in the top league of some chippies I have eaten at, but reasonably good food and good value in a pleasant location in the town. Nice to be able to eat outside in the lane, but only two tables and the lane can be a bit of a wind funnel.

Apparently there is also seating upstairs, but this is not very clear from the outside. I thought the 'cafe open' sign referred to the two tables in the lane and only realised they had inside facilities when I was queuing at the back of the shop on the second visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little chippie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Popped in today to get some much needed nourishment. The place has friendly service, great chips and steak pie to die for! I'd highly recommend them to anyone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Lane Chippie also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
 
Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Angel Lane Chippie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Lane Chippie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.