We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar

Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar
54 CastleGate, Penrith CA11 7HY, England
01768 895444
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 121 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a lovely evening in Grant's on Friday night... From telephone booking through to the end of the evening, the staff were friendly and attentive and did not rush to have us out of the restaurant. The food was delicious and offered a good selection of local produce. Had been warned that it was "pricey" but found the bill to be more than reasonable considering the quality of food and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food& Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Worth wait for food while enjoying wine the meals came freshly cooked with some original tastes. Best meal in this part of Cumbria for four years

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsons681, Owner at Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments we do appreciate this, we hope to see you again on your next trip to Cumbria.
Allison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited here based on previous great reviews and were not disappointed. It is a real gem. Small but perfectly formed!
We phoned to make a reservation and I would recommend doing this as it is a popular place.
We had cocktails whilst waiting to be seated.
The food was excellent with lots of little twists, making for an excellent meal.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsons681, Owner at Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Very good of you to write such nice things about us, it's good to know that we are
appreciated, we all work very hard to maintain our standard. We hope you visit us
again when you are next in Cumbria.
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and my family went to Grants on a Thursday night.... it was simply superb I cant recommend this restaurant enough..... nothing we asked for was a problem.... I would recommend the tempura king prawns as they were marvellous ...... I cant fault this place at all!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsons681, Owner at Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to write this review, delighted you
enjoyed your evening with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food @ Grants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Can't recommend enough. We ate here on a Saturday night.

Greeted at the door with a smile. Food and wine order taken. We then went to our table.

Starters arrived = gorgeous
Mains arrived = lush
Desert = beautiful sticky toffee pudding

When then had a couple of cocktails.

Really can't fault this place. Food, service and attention to us was perfect.

Looking for a lush lakeland 5* restaurants... Grants

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
Kirkby Thore, Penrith
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grants of CastleGate Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.