We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutton in the Forest

Hutton in the Forest
Penrith CA11 9TH, England
017684 84449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 attractions in Penrith
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Widnes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Love Hutton in the Forest, especially as they allow dogs in the gardens, unlike most places. The plants on sale are of good quality and you can think of your holiday all year when you see them growing at home. The cafe is plesant, too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely topiary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Visited this garden which I was immediately impressed by the very intricate shapes of the topiary. Very eye catching indeed on a nice bright sunny day which was a bonus but would also still look good in dull weather. The garden has a lovely terrace around the house with nice natural plantings on steps. There is a beautiful walled garden with herbaceous borders which I imagine will look stunning in summer when everything is in bloom. Seating provides plenty of opportunity for quiet contemplation here in what is a glorious sun trap. Enjoy your visit. By the way you are allowed dogs on lead.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon and made a visit to the Tearoom first (Friendly staff and nice Hot Chocolate). Wandered around the gardens for half an hour which are really well cared for. Will definitely back for a return visit so we can spend longer walking around the grounds as there looked to be lots of trails. Beautiful place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Ancient, Impressive, High Standards and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A basic but adequate car park with a picnic area. The cost is quite high for a walk around the gardens in the winter or early spring, however the gardens are said to be wonderful in the summer. A special feature is the arboretum trail and leaflet which kept us fascinated for an hour or so with some superb trees and new plantings that are adding to the value of the trail. A fine sundial sits in the Low Garden and a lake with wildfowl is located nearby.

The castle is fascinating and the guide book clearly explains the evolution of the building and the history of the family. The rococo fascade on the east side is most unusual and adds to the attractive oddity of the building as a whole. The tea room is impressive and lies beneath the famous Long Gallery. The food is fresh and a few craft items are for sale. the toilets are fresh and new with a tourist guide area at the entrance.

The dovecote sits on the tree trail path and still contains the potence or ladder for collecting eggs and birds for the pot. The walled garden and topiary are very well looked after and two unusual ornamental ironwork gates add a special something.

Overall a place that makes you feel welcomed and appreciated with friendly staff and high standards.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visited Hutton in the Forest Castle on Wednesday having driving passed it a few times and always promising ourselves that we should visit. However this time we'd been prompted by the owner of the B&B we were staying at and decided that we should definetly go. What a treat - a real hidden gem! We had no idea it was as big as it was and the grounds are huge. The garden was obviously not looking its best given the time of year and the cold weather but we absolutely must come back to see it in June. Entry to the castle is by guided tours but our guide was really good and told us about the history without being boring or stuffy in fact there are quite a few amusing stories. The cafe is in a real old historic part and the food was delightful - I highly recommend the soup and scones. Friendly staff who really love being there as much as the visitors.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutton in the Forest also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Hutton in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutton in the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hutton in the Forest to your Saves list