We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Food Cafe

Thai Food Cafe
Devonshire Arcade, Penrith, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 133 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Excellent good value food, with efficient and friendly service, in this little cafe tucked away at the back of an arcade. A little bit difficult to find if you have not been told the way!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    17
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic - best meal ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I can honestly say this was one of the nicest meals I have ever had. Beautiful flavours, perfectly-cooked vegetables and tender chicken. The service was also very friendly. We had checked tripadvisor before going to Penrith so knew about it, but it isn't obvious where it is in the evening as you can't access it through the arcade and need to go through the back entrance. It is well worth finding, though!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

You could miss this place if you blink whilst driving and you'd be sorry! Diner meets thai heaven. Walk in to this place and it looks like a diner (very clean diner) but the food and service is top notch. Visiting family in Wigton but read the reviews and had to visit. Food was amazing, hot and fresh. Portions were spot on. Very popular for takeaways. I would defiantly recommend this place. Will visit again when up from Buckinghamshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thai Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Having to take my daughter to a course, I was left to pass the time in Penrith, where I was lucky enough to find the Thai Food cafe tucked at the back of the Devonshire Arcade. I had an excellent meal which was one of the best Thai meals I have had. The two girls running the cafe were very friendly and efficient. The food was freshly cooked and could not have been better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire Cyclist
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant and polite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We found the rear entrance as the Devonshire Arcade was closed. There was plenty of choice on the menu, and the young lady was very helpful. We shared a starter, then had a main course each and shared rice. It was very nicely presented, and was all cooked fresh. We did book, but there were enough places if we hadn't. They have been there about two years now, and seemed to be well supported by locals coming in for take-aways. Not gigantic portions but nicely flavoured and reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Food Cafe also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Thai Food Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Food Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.