We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hopspitality - flawless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Sowerby House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
Save
You added Temple Sowerby House Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Penrith
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Elegant hopspitality - flawless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Superb two night stay. The room was spacious, comfortable, well equipped and beautifully furnished.
Superb decor in the very comfortable lounges, and the dining room was a delight. Service was personal, friendly and very efficient, and the food was inventive, beautifully presented and delicious.
The proprietors were hospitable, affable and thoughtful. All round excellence, and a relaxing and happy stay..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Again, thank you for taking the time to write. We do try to make the whole guest experience relaxing, as well as providing good food and wine! The house itself is a lovely old house and we're very lucky to be here - delighted that others enjoy it too...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    12
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
91
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

On a trip to Scotland, I booked this establishment at the last minute and so glad I did. I was greeted by the owner and shown to my room which was superb. The service was efficient but not over powering and extremely pleasant. The food was exceptional. Just like being in a country house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our three night stay was blessed with warmth and sunshine, which enabled us to enjoy to the full the large rear garden - and the entertainment provided by the resident mallards and sundry other birdlife. The hotel is well situated for walking in the Vale of Eden and North Penines, in particular for the ascent of Cross Fell the highest hill in the area.

Our room (no.1) was spacious and well equipped with, for example, two good arm chairs, a dressing table and a full length mirror. It was reasonably quiet,even with an open window, despite being at the front of the hotel and not far from the road.

Service was good and friendly at all times. Also of note is the fast WiFi internet, with a good signal in our room and no registration needed.

The three evening meals we had there were all exceptionally good, with consistency, reasonable sized portions and attractive but not fussy presentation. Of particular note for us were the generous hors d'oeuvre, the gazpacho mousse and summer salad starters, the lamb main course and the chocolate dessert. Breakfasts were also excellent, in particular the omelettes. The restaurant has a two AA rosette rating, however we thought it was closer to three rosette standard.

Our three night stay for two, including accomodation, meals and drinks cost about £750. Not cheap, but very good value for the high quality provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and you're right, the Eden Valley is a beautiful corner of Cumbria to explore! The river itself, castles galore and wonderful landscapes.....fantastic! I'll certainly pass on your comments to our chef and his team, as well as all the other staff who work hard to provide such a good guest experience. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Temple Sowerby House. We had a very comfortable, large room with reading chairs. Upon arrival we had a lovely cup of tea in the beautiful garden, and had an amazing dinner in the dining room. It was delicious, and the most interesting dinner of our six week trip. We spent a day on peaceful Lake Ullswater, and then stopped at Castle Brougham, which we enjoyed exploring, on our return to the hotel. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. We have many guests staying for one night on their way to and from Scotland. It breaks the journey and refreshes the weary traveller! Even better is to stay for a couple of nights and take time to explore a little. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

On the good side; welcoming hostess and friendly efficient waitresses. Elegant sumptuous spacious reception rooms . Beautiful extensive gardens.
Dinner; The 'canapes' we found too stodgy ..sated rather than whetted the appetite. My mackerel starter and duck were v good, (although I prefer crispy duck skin, not soggy skin)but a little lacking in vegetable content. But my husband chose the asparagus starter and then the duck so achieved a better balance. My dessert was EXCELLENT; a wonderful balance of delightful sweet and sour flavours and herbs.(called 'Flowers'). The variety of little bread rolls served were also excellent.
Breakfast; My husband says he should have been more specific how he liked his omelette cooked. He likes his mushrooms well fried before being put in the omelette. And maybe I should have said that I don't like my scrambled egg watery and runny. And it would have been lovely to have more of that home made bread. The host who served breakfast didn't come up and ask, 'is everything all right?' as one would expect. And finding our plates only half eaten he should certainly have asked!!
For a long meal we found the dining chairs uncomfortable; the front crosspiece starts to dig into the back of the thighs after a while.
Our room was small with naff cheap pine wardrobe and desk/dresser. The bed was double, not King. We moved one armchair into the very ample bathroom which helped a bit, but the 2 of us plus Labrador were still a tight fit. (We are not large people) So at £145 for B&B (inc £10 for dog) we don't consider this good value.

Room Tip: Avoid the room we had, but it sounds as though the others were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Obviously 'wannabee' food critics here!!
I must say that I personally served their breakfast and the scrambled eggs were perfect - beautifully soft and fluffy! In fact a gentleman served at the same time, with exactly the same quality of eggs, commented that they were the best he'd ever had in a hotel! Just goes to show that everybody's different I suppose.
The room mentioned, one of two in which we allow dogs, is perfectly adequate and very comfortable. Obviously a dog does take up a lot of room though, but moving furniture into the bathroom seems a little extreme!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My disabled husband and I stopped here overnight on a trip to Scotland and found a very comfortable welcoming place. Accommodation on the ground floor of the Coach House was excellent - large room with comfortable seats as well as beds and a good bathroom. Sadly shower was over the bath so he had to make do with a wash.
Excellent service throughout - tea offered when we arrived (how rare is that!) and a wonderful meal in the restaurant. Good breakfast too. Will use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we're delighted to have been able to accommodate you both - sorry you couldn't use the shower over the bath though. We do have rooms with walk-in showers, although they are on the first floor which may not suit. Hope to see you again on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this hotel and it was wonderful. The bedrooms were spacious as was the bathroom.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The hotel had a fantastic garden and it was lovely to sit in it when we had returned from our trips out with a cup of tea or coffee. We ate in the superb restaurant twice and I would recommend that anyone staying eats in the restaurant to sample the delights that they have to offer.
Breakfast was also very good and again very tasty (especially the cheese omelettes!)
I do hope that we have the opportunity to stay in this hotel again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
What a very nice review thank you! I've passed your comments on to our staff, who always appreciate hearing directly from guests and we hope you can make it back to TSH soon. The garden is looking particularly beautiful at the moment with the sun shining out of a clear blue English summer sky!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Sowerby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Address: Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Sowerby House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Sowerby House is set in the lovely village of the same name in the heart of Cumbria's Eden Valley - a true hidden gem to be discovered!Wonderful landscapes, castles, the River Eden itself make exploring a rewarding experience. Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake is just a 15 minute drive away and Temple Sowerby is a good base for touring the Northern Lake District.Cosy rooms, a lovely walled garden and delightful food from Head Chef Ashley Whittaker combine to make the TSH Experience a pure pleasure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Temple Sowerby Hotel
Temple Sowerby House Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Sowerby House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.