We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Temple Sowerby House Hotel to your Saves list
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Bit late writing this review, but better late than never. It deserves a great review as we had a wonderful 2 night break here at the beginning of April. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Julie who showed us to our room and explained everything to us regarding times of evening meal/breakfast etc. Our room was situated in the old coach house which was very comfortable and contained all we needed for a relaxing stay. Breakfast was delicious served by very polite friendly staff. The grounds and walled garden are beautiful and very nice for a walk around after breakfast. We chose to eat in the restaurant on our second night. What a dining experience and a tastebud delight!! Paul and Julie again were on hand to greet us on arrival in the lounge, Paul also enquired if our shower was now satisfactory, (we had a problem with the temperature) and he had sorted that out earlier that day. We had canapes and pre-dinner drinks in the cosy lounge and enjoyed chatting to other guests who agreed what a lovely place this was. Then to the food.... Delicious! All credit to Ash, the chef who served up one of the best 3 course meals we have ever had. The restaurant is definitely deserving of the two AA Rosettes award it possesses. Staff serving our evening meal were again, very polite and friendly. The hotel was a great base for us to go and explore the Northern Lakes and get a good deal of fell walking done. Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Just also need to mention how flexible and accommodating the owners were when we had to change our booking due to a mix up with my Easter school holiday dates.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 16 in the coach house which was comfortable, lovely and quiet. Didn't see any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests so that we can maintain the standard of the 'guest experience' and we do everything we can to ensure that all our guests enjoy TSH and the Eden Valley, a really wonderful part of England!
You're right that two nights is not enough! I always think that three nights are needed, so that you have two full days to explore. The region is so varied that it is difficult to appreciate in such a short time. However, it does whet the appetite and hopefully encourage return visits.
Your kind comments will be relayed to our staff and we hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps when summer comes?!....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    13
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
97
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Notingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Cumbria’s Best kept secret!

Ignore every single one of the negative reviews – they should have stayed at a Travelodge…The Temple Sowerby House Hotel surpasses, by a mile, the descriptions that the owners, Julie and Paul Evans, modestly make on their website. We are a group of, somewhat, discerning (we like to think) lady friends of various ages who were visiting the hotel to celebrate the “special” birthdays of two of our group. Naturally, we were all a little apprehensive that the hotel would meet and fulfil all our expectations and requirements. However, we were all delighted to find ourselves in stunningly beautiful surroundings and to be so welcomed by the owners and staff of the hotel. Previous reviewers have more than adequately described both the listed Georgian property and the individual accommodations so little more needs to be said other than we were all perfectly happy. Our weekend theme was “wine tasting” and we certainly did a lot of it! Paul’s knowledge and enthusiasm for the subject matter was infectious and extremely informative and the wine delicious and free-flowing. During our weekend stay our every whim and demand was catered for including being appointed a dedicated drawing room where we were served drinks and canapés prior to our most delicious dinners. Our themed second evening was “Flapper Girls” and Julie, Paul and the staff truly went out of their way to make our evening as special as it could be. Dinner was served in a private room which was beautifully decorated – the food was completely exquisite and Ashley, the highly talented chef, had the good grace to judge our Scottish tablet tasting competition. We say a great big thank you for a fantastic weekend where your attention to detail, amazing staff (Naomi & others) and fantastic food and wine made our weekend a truly memorable experience. Don’t hold back – BOOK IT!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Wow, a veritable essay!
Greetings to all you 'flappers', we're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend here at TSH. It was a pleasure to look after you all and the wine theme was certainly a great idea!
Your comments are very much appreciated and we've passed them on to all the staff - it really does make a difference when reviews acknowledge the contribution of all the staff, who work so hard to make things go well for our guests.
Hope we'll see you again soon - don't wait until the next 'special' birthday!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The listed Georgian house looks very impressive and is beautifully and authentically decorated. We stayed in room 3 with a luxurious "air-spa" bath and views to the front over the village and to the hills beyond. Paul and Julie, the owners, are perfect hosts. They are attentive, helpful, with directions, tips and advice about local attractions and places to visit. Perfect location for visiting the Lake District and surrounding areas. The restaurant is Michelin star quality. Absolutely superb food and Paul has a great selection of wines. Pre-dinner drinks and canapes are served in one of the splendid Georgian drawing rooms. Dinner is servied in a beautiful, modern conservatory to the rear looking over very large gardens. The service was friendly and extremely efficient. The food is fabulous.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very comfortable and well appointed. Room 2 is also at the front of the hotel and is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
A lovely review, thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed the TSH experience and I'll certainly pass on your comments to our chef and his team. Many guests have wondered why we don't have a Michelin star and the reason is that inspectors look at food in a totally different way to 'real' people. They are often to dissectional, if that's a real word and it's easy for chefs to try and create food to make inspectors happy which doesn't then satisfy normal diners.
We would much rather serve food that we know our guests enjoy so much, rather than try and 'chase stars' as some establishments do, to the detriment of their clientele!
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here recently on the living social voucher, we found both the owners and the staff very welcoming and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble. food was exellent and beautifully presented. I have to admit I was a little anxious after reading previous reviews but thankfully was pleasently surprised. I do feel it's not a place for familes as it can be a bit too formal but is fab for a couple looking for a quite break in a really select hotel then this is the one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. You're right in that we're not the hotel for families, in fact we do not accept young children. We try to create more of a 'house party' atmosphere in which guests can have civilised conversation without unruly offspring causing havoc!
We're certainly the hotel to come to and enjoy a relaxing break and Ash's wonderful food - it's forever a mystery to me why some people book to stay with us and then go and dine elsewhere -
Bizarre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have been frequenting the restaurant of this lovely hotel on a regular basis for over 8 years,
Paul and Julie the owners are the perfect hosts, nothing is any trouble to them, lovely staff, chef Ashley with his excellent food, beautifully presented, service impeccable. Our last evening was on a Sunday In March, with our friends from Yorkshire, they had not eaten here before, but could not fault it, they absolutely loved it! simply excellent. We have recommended lots of family and friends over the years and they have never been disappointed. Well done team Temple Sowerby House we can't Waite to return once again! The Best Restaurant in our area by Far!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Very many thanks for your comments, it's always a pleasure to greet guests who return regularly, whether for dinner only, or for accommodation too and we appreciate you taking time to write.
Hope to see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This superb historical house is furnished and fitted out with style and panache. (One of 22 grade II listed building in the village). The public lounges are very attractive and there was a good fire burning in the 'Egyptian themed' lounge. The bedroom was comfortable and well decorated in a period style and well heated by adjustable radiators. But the beds were too soft and liable to cause back pain. The bathroom was extremely modern and clean and functional. The evening meal was perfectly prepared and presented in the conservatory looking out onto the extensive walled garden to the rear of the building but rather expensive at £31.50 for two courses. The breakfasts are individually ordered and prepared in every respect including fruit juice, tea/coffee etc and are of an extremely high standard. This was an excellent and enjoyable stay that was marred by the sanctimonious, supercilious and patronising attitude and manner of the proprietor and staff. What a shame, it could have been perfect but for the human element.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A frosty, fraught, patronising owner. Canapes only arrived just before we were asked to go into dinner. Wine was poured with a plastic funnel inserted in the neck of the bottle. Food was indifferent with one burnt course and there was no offer to exchange this. Atmosphere was unwelcoming with no farewell at the end of the evening. We live locally and would not recommend the restaurant to any of our friends and have since heard similar adverse comments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Well, I've never been described in those terms before - quite upsetting!

To respond to the less insulting points made... we try and encourage a relaxed feel to the dining experience. When guests arrive, we seat them in one of the lounges and serve drinks with menus and a wine list. The 'canapes' are, in fact, a more substantial 'amuse bouche' style of appetiser, so we serve them after the order has been taken. This gives our guests time to enjoy them whilst their dinner is being prepared and, once they are finished, we then take the guests to the restaurant. The timing works exceptionally well and doesn't rush the process. These appetisers are a great way of getting the gastric juices flowing and to heighten expectation of the meal to come!

Red wine served from the bottle has a 'drop-stop' pourer inserted into the neck - a very neat circle of metal foil that, when curled up and inserted into the bottle stops drips. This is very important when our tables our laid with white linen. Red wine splashes look so messy! The drop-stops look very smart and guests often leave intending to buy them themselves!

Regarding the 'indifferent' food, it is difficult to react when these comments are made anonymously and we so we cannot comment on the exact circumstances. All I can say is that we constantly strive for consistency and I feel that we achieve a consistently high standard. This is supported by the award of 2 AA rosettes for eleven years running and by numerous comments in the reviews below and the comments we receive directly from guests.

If this reviewer feels that they have not enjoyed their experience as we would wish, then I certainly apologise and hope they will try us again in the future to allow us to make up for their perceived issues. I cannot see that they could have 'similar comments' from other people as this is not our impression at all. I wonder if they are confusing us with another nearby establishment?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Sowerby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Address: Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Sowerby House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Sowerby House is set in the lovely village of the same name in the heart of Cumbria's Eden Valley - a true hidden gem to be discovered!Wonderful landscapes, castles, the River Eden itself make exploring a rewarding experience. Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake is just a 15 minute drive away and Temple Sowerby is a good base for touring the Northern Lake District.Cosy rooms, a lovely walled garden and delightful food from Head Chef Ashley Whittaker combine to make the TSH Experience a pure pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Temple Sowerby House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Sowerby Hotel
Temple Sowerby House Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Sowerby House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.