We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Sowerby House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Penrith
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed recently using the two-night Living Social voucher. The hotel was lovely; the room very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel on the first night and both thought it was excellent. The breakfast was a real highlight: the lamb's kidneys on toast were a perfect start to the day.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It's always nice when guests appreciate our efforts and like to share their thoughts! Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    8
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
81
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at Temple Sowerby House Hotel recently using a voucher, as a few other reviewers have done. In general, the stay was excellent and we enjoyed it hugely, however I think it is fair to say there were good and less good points and it is fair to give them both.

The setting of the hotel is fantastic, in a lovely small village (just a note, there isn't a shop that we saw within walking distance, in case you needed anything urgently! Plenty nearby in Penrith though, only a few minutes in the car). When we arrived, we were a tad early but it wasn't a problem, the room was ready and we were shown to it by the manager, who was incredibly friendly throughout the whole visit. The room itself was in the courtyard at the back of the hotel, which suited us, and was a double room of a nice standard, more in the traditional feel than a modern hotel, however, the bathroom was more modern and was very nice.

The only real problem we had with the room was on the first night, when it was very cold and windy, and it seemed to create quite a draught. We pushed a blanket across the bottom of the door, but it did stay quite cool in the room all night, which wasn't enough to be uncomfortable, but wasn't ideal. On the second night when it was equally as cold, but not windy, the room seemed to stay warm without a problem.

We dined at the restaurant on the first evening, and the food was excellent. It has two AA rosettes, and it was clear to see why, as the food was more interesting than your average hotel fayre. My girlfriend rated her starter (scallop lasagne) as one of the best she had ever had. Overall, the food was excellent, however, we did get a discount of 25% because of the voucher, and I think this brought the price more down to it's correct level. £40 for 3 courses, I would have said, was slightly too high for the standard. All in all though, an excellent meal.

Breakfast was again excellent, with a range of items available to order, and although we stuck to the english breakfast on both mornings, it was done very well indeed.

The only other small gripe that we would have (and it is slight) would be to say that we found the staff ever so slightly too formal for our liking. I completely understand that the hotel and restaurant is presenting as a high-end establishment (and in fact, rightly so), we just found that the over-formality meant that occasionally it felt slightly 'cold', and this meant that we chose to have some evening drinks in the pub across the road, as it just felt a little more relaxed.

Overall though, this was an excellent hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again should the opportunity arise, thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Although we appreciate your overall comments and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay at TSH and would like to return, we really must take issue with you. It is UTTERLY WRONG and UNFAIR of any reviewer to talk about a perceived problem if that same problem was not raised with the hotel during your stay!
You stayed two nights and you say that there was an issue on the first night? Why on earth did you not mention it? We're all here to ensure the comfort of our guests and will help all we can. We cannot help if we are not aware of a problem! It's odd that the last reviewer, below, stayed on the same two nights and their comment was "The weather was bitterly cold but our room was warm and cosy" - and they were in the room alongside your own!
On checkout, there were still no issues raised and you indicated that you had really enjoyed your stay. So it is most unfair to then write about an issue which you had not given us a chance to resolve, and hadn't even mentioned - most discourteous!
For any reviewer, I would urge that you raise any issues during your stay so that the hotel can have a chance to put it right. Do not write about issues that the hotel weren't aware of. Common courtesy would dictate that you bring any problems to the attention of the staff. That way the problem can be resolved, enhancing your stay rather than spoiling it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights using a Living Social Voucher and we were delighted with our standard twin room which was in the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The weather was bitterly cold but our room was warm and cosy. The food has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes and deserves this merit for excellent quality and imagination.The canapes before dinner were superb, the bread the best ever and the starters fantastic especially the Waldorf! We each had the lamb on the first night which was delicious and on the second night my husband chose the pork which was equally so. I chose the beef which was cooked to perfection but in my opinion there were too many flavours going on in one dish. The deserts were good if not a little too sweet for my taste but the cheese platter was really special. Overall the chef deserves high praise. Breakfast was the most pleasant experience with a varied menu all cooked to perfection. We cannot fault the hotel in any way. The place was absolutely spotless and the staff were so attentive. Also the wine list was varied and well priced for quality wines which were served perfectly chilled in the case of white and perfectly at room temperature in the case of the red! Well done to the management!

Room Tip: In cold weather a room in the main house would save a cold few steps to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow, a veritable essay! Very kind of you to write and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We have tried the voucher scheme as a way of introducing new guests to TSH and, for the most part, we find that our efforts are well-appreciated. Hope to see you back another day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, we had room 5 to the back of the hotel, i would give the actual room 4 out of 5 but the complete hotel and experience 5 out of 5. Staff were excellent, food was superb, wine list was good and went from about £18 up so even if you wanted a reasonable priced wine its there.B fast excellent and very comprehensive. I have said in my past reviews you get what you pay for and we totally got our moneys worth here. The actual building is lovely and frontage is Georgian, the hotel is lovely. I cant think of one thing wrong here, great.

Room Tip: There are upgraded rooms which I think are £25 a night extra, we didnt have one but the normal room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, which we will pass on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Temple Sowerby House Hotel last weekend for my birthday. We struggled to get there on time for dinner due to the snow and when we arrived we were greeted politely by the owner of the hotel. We were shown to our room which was lovely. It was traditional in taste and spotlessly clean. We were in room 8 which had a beautiful bathroom with a spa bath. Recommended!

On the first evening we were offered a light snack and both opted for a club sandwich. The sandwich was amazing and came with home made chips which were divine. We were seated in comfortable seats in the bar area. There was a lovely fire in there but unfortunately it wasn't lit during our stay. We found it very quiet in this room which made it difficult to have a comfortable conversation but apart from that it was lovely. We didn't stay for long as were both tired and retired to our room quite early.

Breakfast was gorgeous with loads of choice. The food at the hotel really is something special. We both had a full english with extra toast which was delicious and set us up for our day of exploring in the lakes. On our return we enjoyed some lovely drinks in the local pub next to a beautiful roaring fire. There were plenty of locals in there and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.

On the evening we dined at the hotel. There is a dress code of smart-casual however most people were very dressed up. The food at dinner was beautiful and imaginative. We had 3 courses and a complimentary bottle of wine as part of the livingsocial deal we bought. After dinner we enjoyed some coffee in the lounge area next to the fire before enjoying a spa bath.

The restaurant/bar staff were always very attentive and friendly and the cleaning staff did an amazing job. We would definitely recommend a stay in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room 8 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are much appreciated, especially by our staff, who work very hard, often in the background, to make your stay memorable. Just a point about the fire that wasn't lit - unfortunately, the fire in the bar is not operational as the chimney was blocked off many years ago!
However, the lovely fires we have blazing in the Red Room and, when we're busier, in the Morning Room, more than make up for the lack of a fire in the bar. The bar itself is a snug little room, very peaceful and relaxing - a good spot to "chill out"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend. Hotel is small and nicely decorated, spotlessly clean. We ate there on our first night and the food was superb and excellent wine. Breakfast was just as good with plenty of choice. Our second night we ate in the Kings Arms across the road. Again great food but pub prices. Next morning at breakfast the owner asked how we had got on eating last night. We said we went to the pub and this wes recieved with a huffy sigh, aparently he was not pleased but did not push it. We would reccomend the pub for food as we had good service and a nice meal. The food in the hotel was first class but was quite expensive. It's a case of you get what you pay for. A few minor quibbles, the breakfast room should have some light background music, as should the public areas, not loud but soft and welcoming. We thought the hotel was a bit stuffy and not really to our personal taste but this is just our opinion. Could not fault the staff, polite and attentive. We would not stay there again though, this is not a criticism, we just like a more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, particularly the food - Ash, our Head Chef, is quite a genius according to most of our guests, and his menus are always exciting! However, "huffy"?...and "stuffy"?.....I'm shocked! I may have been surprised at the thought of eating at the pub when Ash produces such wonderful food, but never "huffy"...and as for "stuffy"? I prefer the descriptions given by many other reviewers, of "friendly" and "hospitable" and "relaxed"!

.....but as for "muzak" - that dreadful, soft but bland and incredibly irritating form of music that emanated from every hotel lounge, lift or restaurant in the 1970's......well, what can I say? NEVER!! That sad phase died a death many years ago and efforts to revive it will be resisted at all costs! Peace and quiet are priceless these days and we provide it in bucketfuls!

Come to TSH for a wonderfully relaxed experience - "Happiness", NOT "Huffiness"......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Recommended by my husbands cousin & wife who have visited several times over the last few years, we had our first experience of Temple Sowerby House recently and were absolutely thrilled. The owners were extremely hospitable and attentive, the food consistently superb and the wine tastings very well organised, informative and of excellent quality. We are hoping to return shortly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul022, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we're so pleased you enjoyed your first stay at TSH - the first of many hopefully! The Wine Tasting weekends are always fun and are a good blend of learning and guzzling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Temple Sowerby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Address: Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Sowerby House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Sowerby House is set in the lovely village of the same name in the heart of Cumbria's Eden Valley - a true hidden gem to be discovered!Wonderful landscapes, castles, the River Eden itself make exploring a rewarding experience. Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake is just a 15 minute drive away and Temple Sowerby is a good base for touring the Northern Lake District.Cosy rooms, a lovely walled garden and delightful food from Head Chef Ashley Whittaker combine to make the TSH Experience a pure pleasure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Temple Sowerby Hotel
Temple Sowerby House Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Sowerby House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Temple Sowerby House Hotel to your Saves list