We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't fault our stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brooklands Guest House to your Saves list
Brooklands Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Portland Place | Cumbria, Penrith CA11 7QN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 78 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“We couldn't fault our stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having read reviews on TA we decided to book an overnight stay following our wedding in Gretna Green back in October 2012. FANTASTIC. This small guest house is on a lovely street close to the town centre. We honestly could not fault a thing. We booked the room with the four poster bed, it was very well appointed, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The hotel owner made us feel very welcome and gave us advice on where to eat and go in the town. We are from Carlisle, so day trips to Penrith are regular for us, however we have never stayed overnight. Breakfast the following morning was wonderful, again nothing was too much trouble and the cooked breakfast was made to order. We plan on coming back for an overnight stay for our 1st anniversary and cannot wait. You wont be disappointed with a stay here.

Room Tip: The four poster bedroom is lush and looks onto the main street, we did not hear any noise from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
99
16
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here on the Coast to Coast cycle trip from Whitehaven to Sunderland in September.
The hosts are very friendly, geared up for cyclists and have secure storage to lock all your bikes. I had a single room which, although small had been designed in such a fashion that I had space for all I needed. Shower was good.
On the way back to the B&B on the evening, we saw a meteorite burning greeny-blue through the sky. It went right across Portland Place. I made a wish, but it was probably space-hardware. Although I appreciate that this has nothing to do with the accommodation - it was pretty cool. Breakfast was faultless.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A warm welcome was the start of an excellent stay. The room was warm, spotlessly clean and attractively decorated with a comfortable bed. There was a hairdryer, alarm clock, big TV and a drinks tray with daily biscuits. The bathroom had a powerful shower and designer toiletries, also a bath robe.
Breakfast was amazing - lots of choice from cereals, more variety of fruit than I have seen anywhere else, cheese, yoghourts and fruit juice, marmalade and good variety of jams. There was a glorious English breakfast cooked to order or scrambled egg and smoked salmon or omelettes.
Nothing was too much trouble for Leon, suggesting places for an evening meal, local knowledge and even providing warm water to defrost my car windows in the morning!
Parking is via a card system which is provided via Leon. There were spaces outside Brooklands or just round the corner.
Would recommend Brooklands to anyone. Really friendly and regular business travellers extolled its virtues and its hospitable owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Superb B&B. The rooms are extremely comfortable and really nicely decorated. The ensuite facilities are terrific and well finished to a high standard. The whole building is immaculate kept and very welcoming.
Finally, breakfast! Simply the best breakfast ever, all the freshest local produce and cooked to perfection. Selection of fresh fruit and cereals available are lovely too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I started my Brooklands experience on 22nd August 2012 and escaped in mid October, suffice it to say the overall standard surpasses anything I have, or probably will, ever experience. The attention to detail is bettered only by the outstanding breakfasts. The care shown by my hosts was second to none even though my stay was slightly longer than the norm. I cannot recommend this establishment enough, It must be sampled to appreciate.

The Major

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stopped overnight on our route from Whitehaven to Sunderland.Quite simply the best B&B we have stopped in.The owner made us very welcome and served 2 weary cyclists with a lovely pot of tea on arrival.Leon gave us great advice in where to eat in Penrith and was an excellent host.The rooms are excellent and very comfortable,and together with a great breakfast this was a first class choice for our tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We decided to split our journey to Dumfries & Galloway by stopping at Penrith.

We had stayed previously at a B&B near Ullswater which was delightful, but thinking a change would be nice we opted on this one after reading reports on TA

This is beautifully kept, with nice furnishings and very comfortable with splendid breakfasts.

We had requested a twin which we found really pleasant, the usual complements.

My mother in law had the single room, which again was nicely furnished, but a tad on the small side. She rather struggled with the kettle which was placed rather high on top of the wardrobe; and as a result, had to be really careful when lifting it down. An unfortunate situation with the tap in her bathroom was quickly remedied.

Our only real ‘nuisance’ was the parking. There are car parking bays outside the terraced houses, which need permits (provided by the B&B) but very busy. We struggled to find a bay when we arrived, and in the end our host had to make room for us by moving his van. It is possible to park around the corner, but then your car is out of sight. We were carrying a top box on the car, but this is not rigid and for security reasons has to be emptied if left.

In hindsight, my husband wished he had checked the parking situation first. The other B&B we had stayed in had its own secure car park.

Just as a thought, we tend to use B&BS frequently, either by car or motorbike, and what we have found is that on arrival we have always been offered tea, which has been very welcome after travelling, this is no way a criticism of this B&B as it is a complementary gesture and not something that is expected. There is of course the means in the room to make one; it’s just a nice touch!

All in all, this is a comfortable and clean B&B, but due to the parking situation we would probably choose not to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Guest House

Address: 2 Portland Place | Cumbria, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brooklands Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and elegant, Brooklands Guest House is situated in the heart of historic Penrith. Recently refurbished, our beautifully furnished rooms have fans, radio alarms, bottled water and hospitality tray with chocolates and biscuits, a selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. All our bathrooms come complete with dressing gowns, fluffy white towels and luxury toiletries from the white company for all our needs. Our aim is to provide the very best in comfort and service to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Brooklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrith Guest Houses
Brooklands Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.