We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Helm Cottage - kitchen/diner
Helm Cottage - kitchen/diner
Helm Cottage - kitchen/diner
Helm Cottage - dining area and front door
Helm Cottage - king sized bed
Helm Cottage - lounge area
Helm Cottage - en suite shower room
Penrith
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philbobag...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Helm Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We stayed in Helm cottage with Mark and Pat. The welcome was friendly and relaxed - nothing seems too much to ask to ask them! The cottage was immaculately clean (very impressed) and the facilities were everything you'd need (very comprehensive information pack for local activities).

Gamblesby is a beautiful village, a hidden gem in the Eden valley. It is a wonderful place to stay (or indeed live!). Penrith is close enough for the essentials, with the (much more tranquil) North Lakes and North Pennines (AONB) both easily accessibly.

To summarise our experience, high standard, friendly holiday accommodation in a lovely village, with plenty to see and do (or not if you so desire!). We will certainly be seeing Mark and Pat again!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
alamcn
Emley UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“2nd visit, so quiet yet so close to the lakes, love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

This was our 2nd visit in a year, beautiful village that is so peaceful yet close enough to Penrith to access the lakes should you wish.
The property has everything you need and is very well appointed. Plenty of excellent walks and coffee shops close by. Go exploring or hide away and write a book. Will be back again for sure

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PeterUllr...
Munich, Germany
1 review
“We shall come back as soon as we can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We were looking for a cottage in the lake district. From what I saw in the internet and by feeling let us to Chuch Cottage. We had high expectations (or hopes) and they have all been exceeded! It began with the atmosphere in the cottage, with the surprises regarding the very beautiful nature in the Eden Valley, ending with the Service in the Chuche Cottage.

In fact you are in about 20' minutes in the lake district but teere are a plenty of interesting places to visit around the Church Cottage!

We felt like having a private tourist guide, we received so many tipps from the Church Cottage's owner, maps..recommendations...

We hopefully will have the oppertunity to visit Church Cottage again next year!

Peter Ullrich and Nicole Ullrich, Munich, Germany

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The atmosphere/ambience and the service
Liked least: The wheather...
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$169
/
Night
Week
Instant Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Ruth and Peter W
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing