We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Meg and her Daughters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Meg and her Daughters

Long Meg and her Daughters
Little Salkeld, Penrith, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 55 things to do in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating from the Bronze Age, this is England's third largest stone circle that consists of a huge ring (the Daughters) of more than 60 stones and Long Meg, a 12-foot-high block of red sandstone.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Long Meg and her Daughters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It took us a while to find this site, but it was well worth it. Despite the oddity of parking with the circle, it was a beautiful site - still unspoiled.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting and puzzling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This stone circle is not as impressive as, say, Avebury or Carnac but is still large and thought provoking. It is very much significant although I did not personally like it as I thought it had a strange atmosphere not felt at the above places.

If you are near Penrith then visit. Although I rate it as 4 out of 5 I would not travel great distances for it as I have, again, for the above.

The placing of Long Meg makes one ponder.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Out of the ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My 18 month old was blown away by the number of giant stones. She enjoyed climbing them and walking all the way round the circle admiring them from every angle. For me, it is a beautiful place to visit especially on a clear sunny day - you can see for miles and good for a picnic. (there were dead rabbits lying around when we went, but this is probably not usual)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mystical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

been lots of times. It's worth a visit..The circle is split by a road to a farm, there are trees in the field where people leave offerings i think. It is less atmospheric than Castlerigg but it is still a mystical circle.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Long meg and her sisters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Very spiritual place to visit. Easy to get to from glassonby where we were staying. No problem walking on the farmers land. Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Meg and her Daughters also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Long Meg and her Daughters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Meg and her Daughters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.