We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa. OK hotel. Nice food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added North Lakes Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Penrith
West Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great spa. OK hotel. Nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bit of a mixed bag here really.

Spa. VERY nice indeed. Loved using the pool on Sunday morning and the steam room was great.

Hotel room. We had to be moved, as the room was not clean really, dusty and a bit dirty. The pillars were NOT clean at all, the cases were, just not the actual pillar. The new room was ok, but even that had a VERY dirty cup in the bathroom. Attention to detail, it makes all the difference. In the rooms, soap only as well, no shower gel? No ideas why.

Food. Breakfast is quite expensive, so we skipped that. We had a few drinks, which were VERY expensive. Cheese and ham sandwich, with salad and a few crisps, £8. Nice as it was, come on ! £8!

I would stay again if I had the chance, I just think that hotels take the chance to fleece you with high prices on drinks and food, and this is no exception really.

Room Tip: Inspect it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your review, and I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Apologises about the condition of your pillow and of course this ought to have been picked up. I'm so sorry! As a consequence, I have asked my Head Housekeeper to audit the condition of all pillows and replace as necessary. Thank you for making me aware of your issues. I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    200
    71
    34
    10
See reviews for
134
170
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A good hotel,staff were helpful and room clean.Activities for children to do. The pool was always busy but nice surroundings to relax and watch children whilst having a coffee. Onyl had breakfast, which had a good selection, didn't eat in restaurant for any other meals therefore unable to comment on menu. Conveniently not far from motorway so easy for travelling about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Lovely comments, thank you! I'm so glad that we helped you to relax.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Such a wonderful venue for a wedding reception, staff where fantastic and always helpful and friendly.
Stayed two nights, rooms are large and well equipped although cleanliness could be more up to scratch for a 4* hotel. A big problem for us where the pillows! We managed about three hours of sleep collectively but other than that the rest of our stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
A friendly team is what we're about, and I'm delighted they helped make your weekend so enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was booked at the last minute and was just what we needed. A good standard of accommodation for a family of 4 and a good night's rest. We thought that the dinner and bar meals (the same menu!) was a little overpriced and lacked variety, we headed into town - a 15 minute walk away with a reasonable choice of venues. The kids loved the swimming pool which was clean and well kept as were the changing rooms. Late checkout at 12 meant they could spend some time in the pool in the morning before we left as well. The room was great for the 4 of us with a double bed and bunk beds for the kids. The walls were a bit thin and we were woken early by a toddler screaming in the next room. Breakfast was excellent as we're ALL staff! We thought the rate was a little expensive but accepted that we were booking late.

Room Tip: The standard family room was more than fine for the 4 of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We'd like to think that we're very family friendly, and I'm pleased that we didn't disappoint. Let's hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went just for a spa treatment, we had a pedicure and a full body massage. Both were brilliant, the pedicure left my feet feeling gorgeous and I got to keep the nail varnish. The massage offered different oils and pressures, very relaxing. Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We agree, our treatments really are first class! Please continue to spread the word, and thanks for your review!

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Usual high standard pleasant room and good food. Very peaceful as not many guests.

Lovely service at breakfast, only me. Individually cooked breakfast and prompt service.
Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Short, Sweet and to the point. Thank you, hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West lothian
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the north lakes and found our room shabby with ripped wallpaper and very cramped. The pillows were feather filled and no alternative could be supplied, this meant a very uncomfortable night. The communal areas are lovely and we did enjoy the use of the spa, overall overpriced, don't think we would return certainly not value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and I am genuineley sorry that you left disappointed. If we are made aware at the time, then generally we are able to remedy the situation and restore a little faith. Next time you look to visit, then please contact me directly and I will arrange the best possible rate for you as a gesture of goodwill!

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Lakes Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.