We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in spite of the builders.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Penrith
mansfield
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great stay in spite of the builders.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a two night dinner, bed and breakfast break that included tea and scones when we arrived and a packed lunch. The packed lunch came in handy when we left to drive into Scotland. Although the place was in the middle of a renovation our stay was great. Evening meals in the dining room fabulous with a super choice, breakfasts that set you up for the day coupled with brilliant service. A lovely feature was the open fire or fires giving the whole place a warm feeling. The room had been tastefully decorated and was very quiet at the back. Car parking was a bit of a problem with builders vans scattered about but it was all handled very efficiently by reception. All in all a "highly recommended".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    113
    37
    27
    16
See reviews for
33
175
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful two night break here during a wet and windy October half term. Staff were excellent, food was wonderful and our room was beautiful. Upon arrival, the room allocated was not to our satisfaction, as we could hear the kitchen fans. A brief polite exchange resulted in an upgrade, with no fuss or question. The desk staff member was great! I would thoroughly recommend the George for that pampering time you deserve. Don't forget to eat in Dappers Bar. The burgers are out of this world!!

Room Tip: Not number 16, as it's opposite the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having previously stayed at the Skiddaw in Keswick we were sent a refurbishment offer which we were delighted to accept as it was exceptionally good value for money. The hotel is situated nicely right in the centre of Penrith so all amenities are within walking distance.
The room was superb, clean and comfortable and lovely and warm. The food was also excellent quality and plentiful with good choices for everyone, (the friends we went with are vegetarian and they were delighted with the choices they had). The staff were very friendly and polite and even though the workmen were busy it caused no disruption to to us at all.

We went to find the Lacey Caves which was a nice walk and then we came acroos the Brief Encounter Cafe on Langwathby Station. This is part of the Settle to Carlise line, the food and service here was also excellent quality and value

Room Tip: There are quite a few stairs to the top floor so if stairs are a problem request a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The George Hotel Penrith is an excellent example of a traditional English hotel. Scones and tea when you arrive; comfortable, and well-appointed room and friendly efficient staff through out. We went on a two night inclusive break which included diner, bed and breakfast (full English!), which were all excellent and to our pleasant surprise we were offer a package lunch on our first day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we took advantage of a refurbishment offer- 4 nights - room 30- rear of hotel as requested. No noise from workman- in fact even when they came in to refurbish the lounge there was no disturbance
Great l location in the centre of town- 2 min walk to the cinema - a great intimate independent one
Good room ( refurbished -I think) with very large and comfortable bed ( Super King)
large bathroom and bath robes and great shower over a corner bath.
Staff really welcoming and helpful with nothing too much trouble
Food fantastic- full breakfast and 4 course dinner included in the price wine reasonable and good selection.
This hotel is a must place to stay- and will be even better once the refurbishment is complete ( 22 November)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I really love the George Hotel. It has been a part of the fabric of Penrith for years and much of the tradition of Cumbrian service and quality remains.

When we checked in we saw a couple enjoying a traditional afternoon tea – it looked wonderful, with sandwiches cakes etc. beautifully served on a cake stand.

We had a room (No 10) in a part of the hotel we like overlooking the courtyard and totally tranquil. The room (one of the slightly more expensive ones) looked as though it had been recently renovated, was spacious, beautifully equipped, good wifi, beds comfy, bathroom immaculate, toiletries high quality, nice cotton bathrobes. A treat. I asked if I could change the duvet for a sheet and blanket and the housemaid was up in a flash and the job done in no time flat. Great service.

We didn’t have dinner – having had lunch with one aunt and afternoon tea with another we weren’t really hungry. So we went for the Tapas in the “Dappers Bar”. Oh dear. We ordered a bruschetta, albondigas and chicken pollo fritto. If sold by a mass market British pub chain as meat balls in tomato sauce, chicken in batter and a slice of (rather tough) ciabatta with a bit of diced tomato and onion plus a lump of goats cheese it would have at least been honest. However no part of the cooking process bore any resemblance to Mediterranean food preparation methods and none of the end result tasted anything close to the real thing.

The service in the bar was fine, we could have sent the lot back but didn’t. The meat balls and chicken were inoffensive if bland so we ate them.

All the same we hauled in the duty manager to give feedback. Whilst the duty manager was helpful and friendly (and didn’t charge us the cost of the ciabatta) I’m not sure he really understood what he was selling. And perhaps that is the biggest disappointment of all.

However we went down to breakfast, had our English breakfast and left full and happy.

The bedrooom rated 5 the tapas dragged down the overall rating (at least in my view). We'll be back because it's such a great place to stay right in the centre of Penrith and the breakfasts are great. Something would have to change to make us want to eat there.

Room Tip: Try no 9 or 10 - beautifully quiet and overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We agree with other reviews. Value for money. Town centre stay. Local people very hospitable. We had a big room with lots of space. Cleanliness was exemplary. Food hot and delicious. Breakfast made to order and very hot. Would go as far as to say best hotel breakfast and restaurant food I have tasted in a long time. Huge portions too! Hotel is under refurbishment but intrusion is kept to a minimum *******

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.