We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Site!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays
Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very Good Site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This site, which is large but quite isolated, has some stunning views. The toilets and showers were clean. There is a children's playground with trampolines, a communal lounge with a freezer for ice packs, and areas for dishwashing.

There is a small shop at the site that sells some basic provisions and fresh milk but otherwise the nearest places to buy provisions are the garage on the A66 by the Rheged Centre, the shop at Glenridding or somewhere in Keswick.

I really can't fault this site - it was everything we hoped it would be - but it would have been nice if just one of the camping fields (even the small one along the edge) could have been dog-free. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find sites that don't take dogs (not everyone likes them) and, while most people were responsible in terms of controlling their dogs, I didn't particularly appreciate having my burners nearly knocked over by someone's wayward not-on-a-lead mutt while I was cooking dinner. Not the site's fault, I know, but to have been in a dog-free area would have been so much more relaxing.

Places that we visited included the Aira Force waterfall area, which includes some good walks, Ullswater (where we went on a lake 'steamer' - the coffee and flapjack sold on board are highly recommended), and Hill Top, the former home of Beatrix Potter.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week camping at Gill Head Farm. It is a lovely site with fantastic views. It has a brilliant children's play area with trampolines and swings etc., our children absolutely loved it.
When you arrive you are told to pitch wherever you want which is great if the site is not busy and the majority of people are sensible but there is always the minority! Unfortunately we were there over the bank holiday weekend when some people thought it was acceptable to pitch their tent so close to others that they were nearly touching even though there were plenty of suitable places available. I do believe it would be much better if the pitches were numbered and the 6m rule that the camping club have was implemented here.
The toilets and showers were cleaned daily but to be honest the showers needed a really good clean the partition walls were very grimy and stained (in both the ladies and gents) and the water that was left in the mop bucket to clean after use was like mud and didn't get changed on a regular basis. There were four showers and three toilets in the main block which was adequate at the beginning of our holiday but over the bank holiday weekend there were exceptionally longs queues for both the toilets and showers every morning and evening.
The washing up areas were very good. Just a minority of people who didn't clean up after themselves leaving food debris etc in and around the sinks.
We paid £33 per night which we thought was on the expensive side. We would probably go back to this site again but not on a bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a 2 night stay in a camping pod. Each year my friend and her 2 boys go camping during the 6 weeks holidays and decided this year to ditch the tent and try a pod..... We are glad we did! After encouraging her 9 year old and 5 year old up Cat Bells it was lovely to come back to our snugly warm pod. It was lovely and clean and the electric sockets and heater proved useful. The microwave in the central area was useful and the boys enjoyed the trampolines in the play area. We organised breakfast for each morning and loved the porridge with fruit. Toilet and shower block lovely and clean and all staff we encountered were great people. We shall be back ..... Pods are the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Eighty pound for two nights in pod = easy money for owners of this farm. Arrived to find exercise mat type mattresses. Very thin and may as well have slept on the floor. Dusty and dirty. Miles away from anywhere and badly lit up when trying to find the place in the evening. Stayed one night and asked for the forty pound back for second night as woke up with aching backs but she wouldnt. Came for a break after receiving bad news, never again wish we had stayed in a b n b.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thankyou for your review. Our pricing policy is very competitive and clearly advertised. When you asked about our cancellation policy shortly after your arrival is was clearly explained and you were promised a full refund for the second night of your stay should we be able to re-let the pod which you were satisfied with and decided to stay for one night. We will be sure to make our cancellation policy more evident for future guests. The futon mattresses are exactly as described on the website, as is our location.- most of our customers enjoy our peaceful, secluded location.
We are sorry for you that the camping pods did not match your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We camped here for a week at the end of July and had a brilliant time. The kids loved the play area. We loved the communal room with kettles in! Sadly we didn't discover the stream in the hidden field, but we did find the large shower rooms, which were great. This campsite is in a beautiful location, there is plenty of space for larger tents and the owners are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.......it's great that you had a lovely time at Gill Head and the Lakes, see you again sometime ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place, if you are looking for friendly 'home from home' surroundings look no further.
We are staying in the farmhouse (nine of us) and there is ample room and all the facilities you could wish for.
A little shop on site (dismiss visions of some brightly lit chain store - this is a really nice little counter where you can buy your basic supplies). Dog friendly yet so clean (so often not the case with dog friendly places).

If you choose to put anything negative on trip advisor in relation to Gill Head Farm then there really can be no pleasing you! The owners go out of their way to meet your needs and are so helpful I cannot imaging any issue that may arise that couldn't be dealt with.

Lovely accomodation (beds are sooooooo comfy!), well equipped cottage, nice setting - lovely, lovely people.

Would definitely recommend this fantastic place to anyone wishing to visit the Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Gosh...many thanks for your glowing report! It makes all our efforts worthwhile !......I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Gill Head and we hope to see you return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 3 nt camping stay at Gillhead Farm. The views are beautiful. It is a short drive to nearby amenities in Keswick or Penrith. The showers were good and clean. Think there were 5 in the ladies block- never queued! There was also a plug and mirror area to dry/ straighten hair. Added bonus that you could order breakfast cobs the evening before for the following morning. Will definitely recommend to friends and return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
many thanks for submitting your review.....our best form of advertising is word of mouth so thanks for any reccomendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays

Address: Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty lodging in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the spectacular backdrop of the mighty Blencathra and the northern fells, Gill Head Farm offers a warm welcome to our family run working hill farm with a caravan and camping site and traditional lakeland farmhouse self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gill Head Farm Self Catering Holidays Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays to your Saves list