We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneybeck Inn

Stoneybeck Inn
Bowscar, Penrith CA11 8RP, England
+44 1768 862369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 133 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, Bistro, Gastropub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We would like to welcome you to The Stoneybeck Inn, located a stones throw from the heart of the Lake District. A fantastic setting with food to match, luxury bedrooms together with restaurant and conference centre - an ideal location for weddings, parties and any other functions. Cumbrian cuisine at its finest using the best in local produce.
cumbria uk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Family group just had Sunday lunch here. Excellent , space for high chair and 3 year old without being cramped. The adults all had starters off the main menu followed by a carvery , it was all good. The staff were fairly young and very pleasant without exception. We were not rushed although we were the last of the lunchtime bookings and it did appear to have been very busy.
We chose it for location rather than anything else, only 2 minutes from M6 for family leaving straightafter for the midlands We would do this again without a doubt. Only downside is the distance from the Coniston room ,where we were seated, to the loos which a 3 year old likes to visit several times during he course of lunch ! We will go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're extremely busy on a Sunday lunch for our carvery so im glad you enjoyed it when you stopped with us recently. Thank you for your kind comments, and your report has gone up on our notice board for the staff to see. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    34
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic valentines meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked table for valentines dinner.
Excellent service and wonderful food.
Rack of lamb was delicious as was champagne sorbet.
Red Rose on table for lady was a nice touch. Thanks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It's always nice to have good feedback at our venue especially on a special day such as Valentines evening. Your comments have been passed around the staff and we very much appreciate you giving us such positive feedback. We look forward to seeingyou again soon, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watermillock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I went here over Xmas with my friend, newborn baby and a 4 year old autistic boy, the staff and food was great, nice space between tables, the food was excellent, would definitely go again, also the prices for the quality were great

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent visit. Your comments have been passed around the staff including the kitchen team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great decor but food very ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Meeting up with friends for a January get together lunch, the venue looked great and the menu interesting. However because our nymbers were higher than expected we were requested to choose from the main menu raher than the carvery. Those few who had the carvery said it was good even though there were no yorkshire puddings left and the fish and chips also. However after adventurously selecting the rabbit casserole in red wine, I was most disappointed as it lacked almost any flavour and needed more seasoning and herbs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your visit. We always appreciate feed back from our customers thus enabling us to move forward with our business. We are more often than not extremely busy on a Sunday lunch but I believe on this particular Sunday in question we far exceeded our expected numbers. Although you are slightly dissapointed with the menu selection on the day due to how busy we were and dishes being sold out, I would like to mention that until the morning of the day you had booked on 10 seats and you increased from that morning to 20 and still your numbers rose again upon arrival so we did what we possibly could to allow you and your guests a pleasant visit but it did mean reducing the menu.

Once again I am grateful to you for giving us this feedback and we have taken on board your comments. We hope that you will try us again the near future so we can show that the standard of choice etc that you received on the day is not the level that we set.

Kind regards,
Thomas Dent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another very nice meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

For Christmas lunch we went to Stoneybeck. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Loved it!! Will Surely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch and will look forward to welcoming you back at the Stoneybeck Inn when you are next in Cumbria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoneybeck Inn also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 
Culgaith, Penrith
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Stoneybeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneybeck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.