We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best B&B we have experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albany House to your Saves list
Albany House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£65 per night & FREE WINE
Ranked #12 of 75 Penrith B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best B&B we have experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I cannot fault this B&B. This is our second visit and it was even better than the first because they upgraded us (free of charge) to the family en-suite room since it was empty at the time. The location was good, being very near the centre of penrith but without the noise and access restrictions that central locations can experience. The welcome was warm and inviting (on our first visit they even dried our wet clothes for us - we were on a cycling hoiliday). The room was spacious, tastefully decorated, clean and tidy with all the facilities you could want. The beds were large and comfortable. We were repeated pleased to note the little touches that make the experience that bit special (welcoming tin of cakes and chocolates, good selection of biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water, wifi, lots of pillows, good selection of shower consumables, room perfume etc). And in the morning a perfectly cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
56
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Albany House was by far the best B&B I stayed in during a month's visit to Britain in May.

The room with ensuite was beautifully and elegantly furnished and had a complimentary set of shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser. I enjoyed a good night's sleep on a very comfortable mattress.

The greeting from Archie and Susan was warm and welcoming and they rightly take pride in looking after their guests, right down to the excellent breakfast.

Albany House itself is conveniently located within a short walk of Penrith's town centre and shops, and, beyond that, is on the doorstep of the beautiful Lake District. Moreover, Penrith itself is ideally positioned to break a long journey from the south of England to Scotland.

Albany House is a place I would go back to without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Such a luxurious place compared to other b&bs i've been to. The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. Our room had a big tv screen, hair dryer, kettle, bathroom gel etc. The owners were very friendly and so so helpful. There was so much to choose from for breakfast! Can't really fault the place. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely two-night stay at the Albany House in Penrith. The room was spotless, had all the amenities we could hope for. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the full English breakfast was excellent. There were nice little added touches such as the free Wi-Fi and the bottled water and extra goodies in the room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 2 which we had, has a large window and overlooks the street with its nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in this B&B whilst doing the C2C, we arrived late and very wet! On arrival we had our wet shoes hung up to dry, and all our clothes were washed and dry before we set off the next morning; as if by magic!!
Great location, on the C2C route, and easy walking to shops and restaurants.
Breakfast was also amazing - fruit, pastries, smoothies and a full English. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

To date, Albany House is the best B&B we have stayed in. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, excellent food (and I mean excellent!...the full English Breakfast was amazing) and truly wonderful hosts. They helped us above and beyond what one would expect.

The location was ideal, especially for walking to the shopping center in the centre of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I booked in at the Albany whilst we were doing the coast to coast.We couldn't fault our stay. The rooms were clean, modern and very comfortable with personal touches (chocolate brownies) very welcome after a long day. The breakfasts were superb. We would recommend the Albany to any wishing to feel pampered and spolit to stay at the Albany

Room Tip: Good views from the back bedrooms (recommended)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Address: 5 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albany House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albany House is a 4 Gold Star guest house situated conveniently in the centre of Penrith.We provide stylish and comfortable rooms and an award winning breakfast.We are just 5 mins from J40 of M6 and A66,and only 5 miles from Lake Ullswater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.