We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for two night stay in lake district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey House to your Saves list
Abbey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 78 Penrith B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ideal for two night stay in lake district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Good food
Very clean
Warm welcome
Easy to find
What else do you need ?
Even though we didn't arrive till 10pm
The welcome and warm rooms were sound. Permit given and parking right outside the front door.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
25
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This nice B & B had a welcoming exterior, the bedrooms and en-suite were very clean, the breakfast was good, and recommend for a small hotel. We visited with family who were doing the C2C and their bikes were stored in a safe yard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent bed and breakfast, welcome was extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Rooms were very clean and well presented with all you would expect. Breakfast was just what we needed with me having the works and the boss having smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast. As Arnie said inthe movies "I'll be back!"

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Used the B&B as our first stop whilst completing the C2C cycle route.
Arrived on Thursday afternoon soaking wet after what I call biblical conditions!
They provided secure storage for the bikes and offered to dry our cloths (we did not need to ask is my point). I think they were that wet they took pity on us and washed them as well!.
OK the room we had was downstairs and held 3 x single beds, with an integral en-suite (bath with stand in shower, sink & toilet).
Everything worked, was very clean (or was until 3 x drowned rats (aka us)turned up).
The beds were soft (not to my liking but they were not worn mattresses) so this is not a criticism.

Location was spot on for a quick walk into the town centre
Breakfast was well presented & nicely cooked (full english)

all in all I could not really fault the B&B - and would / have recommend others to stay.

Well done

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

one night stop off here. It was very nice and comfortable. Lovely breakfast choice too def recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I can only echo all of the other previous reviews.
We booked a twin room as an alternative to our usual camping near Ambleside or Keswick.
We had two really good nights out in Penrith after a short walk into town with plenty of hostelries to suit a variety of tastes Saturday was much busier than Friday and we had a rather late night as we enjoyed ourselves so much.
Our planned climb up Skiddaw was only a short half hour drive away.
Would highly recommend this guest house for anyone looking to spend time in the northern end of the Lake District and would like a busier alternative night out.
I sometimes get concerned about B&B's being too up close and personal but found this accommodation perfect. Clean, warm and comfortable and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in November. Very clean and warm. Friendly owners. Parking at rear instead of at front where a permit system operates. An easy 5 minutes walk into town center. Breakfast is juice, cereals, plenty of tea/coffee, toast and full english. Free wi-fi. Will stay again when visting Penrith.
Penrith is a town with everything you could need without being too busy. Loads of pubs and places to eat, with a couple of good chippies.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House

Address: 7 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Abbey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.