We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowthwaite B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lowthwaite B & B
Save
You added Lowthwaite B & B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lowthwaite, Penrith CA11 0LE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 Penrith B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked this wonderful B&B after being recommended by a friend from work. We were not disappointed, Went with our 2 nephews Matt and Dan, 11 and 15 and Jim and Tine made us all feel so welcome. The accommodation was first class and the beds so comfy. The cooked breakfasts were the best we have had in all of the B&Bs we have visited. Going back in October with our friends and looking forward to Tine's evening meal. Great tranquil location, is a good base for both Ullswater and Derwentwater, Great meal at Royal Oak in Dockray.
Sue and Ian

Room Tip: Stayed in garden and Blenchathra rooms leading off Dining Room but have seen larger upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
143
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have now returned from our eighth visit to Lowthwaite! My husband and I had a fabulous weekend with our son and nearly 4 year old granddaughter. Nothing was too much trouble for Jim and Tine. Jim was a mine of information on the best places to take a 4 year old to paddle, and Tine was very accommodating in leaving a tea time sandwich in the fridge for our granddaughter, who can be difficult to please regarding food. The range of choices at breakfast was incredible, but our granddaughter especially liked blueberries and maple syrup (normally served with pancakes, but happily served on their own at special request!).
Sitting outside in the evening was a treat, as was observing the night sky (we had taken a telescope, in the knowledge that the Lake District is not affected by the light pollution that blights our cities). We feel refreshed and relaxed, and eagerly look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful. The two upstairs rooms work very well as a family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night, wish it was longer. A lovely welcome from Tine after we found the B&B. Super garden room, we loved watching the finches and a woodpecker at the bird feeder just feet from our window. The breakfast was superb and enjoyable. We will definitely stay again as we think we have found a gem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having just returned from a trip to Skye and the west coast of Scotland we stayed in 7 B & B's and this one out shon all the rest by far.We arrived to find home made muffins in our room and a selection of teas and coffee which after a long journey were very welcome . We had arranged to have dinner there on our first evening which was also really good but if you opt for this option if available take your own wine as suggested..
The breakfasts are something else home made bread jam granola stewed fruits not to mention a selection of cooked food as well. Just perfect.
Also worth mentioning the products in the bathroom are all locally sourced and I'm just sad I did not buy any as they are available to purchase there
Tine and Jim are a charming couple and nothing seems too much trouble. We will definitely return and enjoy some more time in the Lake District

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have tried to get to the Lowthwaite B&B for 3 years, finally we made it and it was worth the wait. Jim and Tine really do know how to look after their guests. We were made to feel at home in a lovely peaceful setting, extremely well fed on home cooked food and Jim and Tine were such interesting and genuinely friendly people to chat to. We shall return without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room which was delightful, especially when we were able to watch the woodpec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

An absolutely wonderful B&B with a fantastic breakfast! Tine and Jim are so friendly, and chatted to us every morning during breakfast to find out what our plans were for the day, to offer us tips or suggestions. Everything on the breakfast bar is homemade, including the jams and bread. The cooked options are also delicious. The rooms are beautifully designed with a slight African theme running throughout, and all the facilities very modern.
The location is very rural and peaceful. The only thing I would say is that if you were travelling without a car it could be a bit difficult to get out and about, depending on what you like to do.
I loved this place and would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Don't use the post code with your TomTom to find the B&B or you'll get lost like us. The B&B is on Google maps.
Very nice, helpful hosts. We had dinner here which was restful after a long drive (dinner is available once or twice a week, book in advance) & the breakfasts have some unusual options. The homemade bread was superb.
My husband liked the B&B more than I did. I found it a bit claustrophobic, tucked away in the vegetation with dark ethnic furniture but the very things I didn't like would have been plus points to many.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lowthwaite B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowthwaite B & B

Address: Lowthwaite, Penrith CA11 0LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lowthwaite B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old newly renovated farmhouse in peaceful valley close to Ullswater with views of Helvellyn and Blencathra. Walks from the door and route descriptions available. Delicious homecooked, mostly organic food, distinctive furniture and beautiful decoration, organic and local toiletries, stylish en-suite bathrooms, use of gardens, Nothing too much trouble. Children all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowthwaite B & B Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowthwaite B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.