We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowthwaite B & B

Save Saved
You added Lowthwaite B & B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lowthwaite B & B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lowthwaite, Penrith CA11 0LE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Weekend free in July.
Ranked #1 of 72 Penrith B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night, wish it was longer. A lovely welcome from Tine after we found the B&B. Super garden room, we loved watching the finches and a woodpecker at the bird feeder just feet from our window. The breakfast was superb and enjoyable. We will definitely stay again as we think we have found a gem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
136
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having just returned from a trip to Skye and the west coast of Scotland we stayed in 7 B & B's and this one out shon all the rest by far.We arrived to find home made muffins in our room and a selection of teas and coffee which after a long journey were very welcome . We had arranged to have dinner there on our first evening which was also really good but if you opt for this option if available take your own wine as suggested..
The breakfasts are something else home made bread jam granola stewed fruits not to mention a selection of cooked food as well. Just perfect.
Also worth mentioning the products in the bathroom are all locally sourced and I'm just sad I did not buy any as they are available to purchase there
Tine and Jim are a charming couple and nothing seems too much trouble. We will definitely return and enjoy some more time in the Lake District

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have tried to get to the Lowthwaite B&B for 3 years, finally we made it and it was worth the wait. Jim and Tine really do know how to look after their guests. We were made to feel at home in a lovely peaceful setting, extremely well fed on home cooked food and Jim and Tine were such interesting and genuinely friendly people to chat to. We shall return without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room which was delightful, especially when we were able to watch the woodpec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

An absolutely wonderful B&B with a fantastic breakfast! Tine and Jim are so friendly, and chatted to us every morning during breakfast to find out what our plans were for the day, to offer us tips or suggestions. Everything on the breakfast bar is homemade, including the jams and bread. The cooked options are also delicious. The rooms are beautifully designed with a slight African theme running throughout, and all the facilities very modern.
The location is very rural and peaceful. The only thing I would say is that if you were travelling without a car it could be a bit difficult to get out and about, depending on what you like to do.
I loved this place and would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Don't use the post code with your TomTom to find the B&B or you'll get lost like us. The B&B is on Google maps.
Very nice, helpful hosts. We had dinner here which was restful after a long drive (dinner is available once or twice a week, book in advance) & the breakfasts have some unusual options. The homemade bread was superb.
My husband liked the B&B more than I did. I found it a bit claustrophobic, tucked away in the vegetation with dark ethnic furniture but the very things I didn't like would have been plus points to many.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I loved this place and agree with all other reviews here. We spent four nights here recently and will definitely be coming back with our young daughter and her brother/sister, due in November. The location is perfect - 15 mins from Penrith and the M6 but in a completely rural location which feels quite remote - exactly what we wanted. We spent three days driving and walking our way around the Lakes and were easily able to access Derwent Water, Windermere, Buttermere Lakes and call not Keswick, Ambleside and a whole host of other delightful small towns and villages.

The breakfasts are fantastic. An amazing choice each morning, including homemade bread, blueberry pancakes, full English, salmon and eggs etc. freshly baked fruit muffins were available each day and we enjoyed these during some lovely lake/forest walks each day.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and clean and extremely relaxing.

Jim and Tine are excellent hosts; we almost felt we were staying with friends rather than as paying guests.

Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edemissen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Tine and Jim have perfected the art of making their B&B into a home from home for their guests : from an amazing attention to the smallest details right through to making sure that the complete stay is relaxing, fun, informative, wholesome (this last point covers the incredible breakfast....). We found it hard to leave on the last day..........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lowthwaite B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowthwaite B & B

Address: Lowthwaite, Penrith CA11 0LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lowthwaite B & B 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old newly renovated farmhouse in peaceful valley close to Ullswater with views of Helvellyn and Blencathra. Walks from the door and route descriptions available. Delicious homecooked, mostly organic food, distinctive furniture and beautiful decoration, organic and local toiletries, stylish en-suite bathrooms, use of gardens, Nothing too much trouble. Children all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Lowthwaite B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowthwaite B & B Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowthwaite B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.