We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Troutbeck Inn

Troutbeck Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Troutbeck Inn to your Saves list
Troutbeck Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   on the A5091, Penrith CA11 0SJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 75 Penrith B&B and Inns
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Seven of us stayed in this charming hotel whilst completing a coast to coast cycle ride. The Inn is situated in a very picturesque location and just off the main road. The rooms were clean and cosy. The restaurant and bar were fantastic. The food was amazing both evening meal and breakfast. This is a must stay location, excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
32
74
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A nice friendly place to stay. The rooms are well presented & very clean.
The food is fabulous with a fine selection of choices. I think most of the ingredients are sourced locally. The breakfast really does set you up for the day.
A really good location, ideal for exploring Keswick & surrounding area.
If you are looking for a nice friendly hotel, then this is it!!

Room Tip: Have stayed here before & have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently. we were given a warm welcome and the accommodation was excellent, a really comfortable, well furnished room. The inn was quiet but filled up for dinner, and no wonder why as the food was excellent. The wine list was good too, and the real ale was in top condition. Along with a hearty cooked breakfast the inn was excellent value for money and we plan to stay for longer next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

To put it briefly:
Lovely rooms
Beds super comfortable
Very clean and tidy (Bearing in mind dogs are allowed in rooms)
Good value for money
Breakfast was lovely
Peaceful location

Only down side...
Doors are locked at 11pm and I'm unsure when they re open in the morning (I understand this is for everyone's safety) however my puppy gets up at 5am for a wee every morning and as the door was locked at 6am I had to unlock the door and let her have a wee in the car park until the doors opened properly (at breakfast time around 8am)
I think if we stayed again we would stay in one of their self catering cottages or we would stay without the pup

All in all a lovely stay and would recommend to friends

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stay at the Troutbeck Inn twice a year (this year it will be 3 times). We love it. If you like good food, this is a must - the food is tremendous. The breakfast sets you up for the day and the dinner menu is superb. We stay in one of the cottages but have breakfast and dinner in the Inn - the best of both worlds! The staff are attentive, but not too much. We thoroughly enjoy the Troutbeck and would recommend it to anyone. We used to stay in Windermere but would not wish to change from the Troutbeck now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were due at our accomodation later and this was recommended by our hosts as a good place for a meal. They certainly were not wrong! Predictably I had trout (rude not to) and it was cooked perfectly. However that would apply to all that we ate. A very pleasant ambience too along with polite and prompt service. It's also very easy to get to and not at all far from the M6, should you wish to incorporate it into a longer journey. We would happilly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the quiet hotel, par excellence. The rooms were well-appointed and exceptionally clean, the staff unfailingly polite and helpful, the dining excellent. The location is ideal for the Northern and Eastern Lakes, for the Eden Valley and the Western Dales. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Troutbeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troutbeck Inn

Address: on the A5091, Penrith CA11 0SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Troutbeck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Troutbeck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutbeck Hotel Penrith
Troutbeck Inn Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troutbeck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.