We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Save
You added Center Parcs Whinfell Forest to your Saves list
Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for a 3 night break with my mum who is elderly and my sister who is disabled, there was something for the whole family, My mum had a fall whilst she was there and the medical and centre parcs staff were brilliant ensuring an ambulance was called then helping with the other family members and sorting out our pre booked meal which we had to move.

Room Tip: pay to choose your area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,601
    1,422
    568
    246
    108
See reviews for
3,499
391
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at Whinefell. There was 8 of us including 3 children. The whole place is clean, well maintained and excellent service from all the staff. The pool is very good and has something for everyone as has the whole park. My only gripe is that the activities are very expensive, more so than you would pay at home and that is the only down side. I think they should have more free activities given the price of the accomadation isnt cheap in the first place.

Room Tip: Corner houses have more land to for kids to play in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The accommodation could not have been worse; from the peeling paint to the mould on the window frames. We paid extra to take our dog, which someone else clearly did as a (presume large) dog had chewed all of the frame around the bathroom door. In order to disguise this, they painted over the marks without any other remedial work, it was so bad it needed a new door frame! Also the smell of wet paint is not the best when you have breathing issues. In addition to this there was mould on the window frames, rusty radiators, splashed paint all over where they had tried to bodge the paintwork, chipped bath, broken tiles and best of all someones dirty socks in one of the bedrooms.

The horror didn't stop inside. I appreciate the cabins are in the middle of a forest but a little maintenance would not go amiss, the paint work and windows have not seen a damp cloth since they were built I imagine.

The carpets looked so grubby I wouldn't let me dog sleep on them and insisted that he slept in his bed without getting out, goodness only knows what may have been lurking in them!

I object to paying extra to take a dog and then being put in the worst accommodation possible, is it an actual punishment for having a dog that we are paying for???

On the plus side, all of the staff, without exception are absolutely fabulous, had it not been for their great service, particularly the lady who they sent to try to clean the lodge when I complained, I would have turned straight round and gone home.

Will not go back to Whinfell, ever and would suggest anyone considering going make sure you take disinfectant with you if you book into one of the "dog friendly" lodges.

Generally not good enough and far too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I am genuinely sorry to read of your experience and do apologise that your expectations were not met on this visit. We would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns and would ask that you contact us via the ‘Need help?’ section on our website.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our family of 6 adults and 4 children thoroughly enjoyed our first ever visit to Whinfell. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived and were very suprised and excited at all the activities on offer!! For us oldies in the family, it was so peaceful just going for leisurely walks,(we left most of the activities to the youngsters!!) Although we did have a go at golf!! The staff on site were really helpful and friendly, and we couldnt believe how CLEAN everywhere was!! We only had a three night stay but could have stayed longer. Excellent all round, perfect activity holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, being a family of seven adults all with wi-fi needs (it never let us down) and a 4year old who does not sit still, we were kept busy with Pony trekking, Archery, Snooker, Badminton, Massage, Karting, bike riding ( found Whinfell hilly so would not use bikes if we came back) and tree trekking,the vast range of activities are well organised and very reasonably priced.

We bought our own food it is self catering after all and enjoyed our breakfasts, BBQ and lunches all made in the well equipped kitchen.

The staff are wonderful, helpful and patient and friendly (Tom in the sports plaza and Jed in field archery and the lady in the tree trekking all great fun and made the trip enjoyable) Even the staff in the cycle shop.

Stayed in Seven Pines and the only let down for us was the lack of wildlife, as we have stayed in the other CPs and enjoyed the deer, ducks and squirrels and rabbits, this weekend we were entertained mainly by pigeons!

Travelled from London and went the Lake District on the way up so enjoyed a full weekend

Room Tip: Lakeside View lodges obviously overlook the lake which looked more picturesque than Seven Pines wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just returned from a 3- night break with all the family. It was fabulous from start to finish- lodges were beautiful, service was flawless and the activities were great. We particularly enjoyed the horseriding at Leacett stables (I must say the girls who worked there were incredibly helpful), target archery and the Aqua Sana spa. We enjoyed it so much we are already thinking about our next break there!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Amazing time at center parcs when we visited in May. The service we received from every member of staff we came across was above and beyond. Nothing was ever a problem and everyone went out of their way to be extremely helpful and friendly it was refreshing in comparison to many places So staff should be commended for this! We upgraded to a lakeside lodge this time and it was lovely well worth the upgrade cost. So much to do here for children of all ages we have a 5 and a 1 year old and both were kept well entertained! The facilities really do cater for young children with baby changing stations everywhere and lots of other extras that just made our holiday with a young family all the more stress free. Fifth year in a row visiting here and can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.