We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Save
You added Center Parcs Whinfell Forest to your Saves list
Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We returned to Center Parcs Whinfell after staying there last June. The Woodland Lodge was lovely and spacious and our 10 month old was very safe as there are no sharp edges. The staff at Whinfell are consistently very friendly and chatty. We had several delicious meals- Lakeside Inn, Dexers Kitchen and Bella Pasta.
Thanks everyone at Whinfell!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,600
    1,417
    568
    246
    108
See reviews for
3,499
390
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just returned from midweek break at Whinfell, as usual a great time was had by all of our group.
This was our fourteenth stay, and still as enjoyable.
The place is safe and very friendly, all the staff we spoke to were all pleasant and keen to help in any way they could, thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 enjoyable nights lots to do and relaxing at the same time accommodation clean and modern. We tuck our 2 week old twins with us and were well catered for. There was 9 in our party and we had a 4 bedroomed lodge. Did not feel cramped very spaceious. The kids love watching all the wild life in the forest. Will defenetley go again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time at Whinfell Froest and I do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We go on a family holiday every year to Whinfell Forest, have done so since it was Oasis. We have learnt how to do it cheaply, with an extended family of 22 this year, ages ranging from 18 months to 76 years of age we can't do many of the activities due to financial restraints. We self cater, bring all our own food and cook all our own meals and bring our own drinks as the drinks in the bars are also very expensive. We used our 'come back soon'vouchers to buy a round of drinks for everyone in the group when we went bowling and I still had to put £20 towards the bill.
We do one 'big' activity, this year was laser combat, which was brilliant. Other than that we have table tennis knock out tournament that only requires one table, the same for soft ball.Ten pin bowling is good value if you can fill your lanes. Use the group bookings co ordinator if you are in a large group, she is really good at making the whole organisation thing stress free.
We used to eat out for one meal to save me and my sister cooking but it's too expensive to do that now.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I took my children and grandchildren for a weeks break out of school hols which was good value for money . Charged £1 for wristband which could not be used in all venues the swimming paradise was good but drinks ice creams etc expensive and ice creams unavailable on 2days also coffee machine out of order for 1day.? I have been to going to center parcs for over 12 years now and think they need to reduce prices for activities and food venues to compete with other Holiday venues

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for providing a review on your recent stay. I was sorry to learn that we experienced difficulties during your stay and you were unable to purchase ice cream and coffees on some occasions.

I am sorry that you were disappointed not to be able to use your wristband in all areas of our Village. Following the successful introduction of this facility on our Village, we are now looking to extend this facility and I do hope you will benefit from this on future visits. With regards to the £1.00 non-refundable deposit, this is deducted from your final bill if you used the wristband to purchase goods during your stay, alternatively, we will donate the £1.00 charge to a charity supported by Center Parcs.

I do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We hadn't been to Center Parcs before and, while it was expensive, it was a great experience. The "village" is laid out beautifully so you feel secluded and close to nature, our woodland lodge was well maintained with modern decorations and fittings. But what really blew us away was the facilities, with 3 small kids we usually struggle to keep them entertained but at center parcs we could fill every moment if we chose. From archery to art classes, teddy bears picnic to ten pin bowling, owls to jet skis - and the swimming area was huge, fun and really warm - we could have stayed in there all day (though it did get awfully busy at times). The kids were exhausted every night! I agree with other reviewers that the activities weren't cheap and dining was particularly expensive - we only ate out once and it cost £77 for 2 kids and 2 adults with minimal booze. It definitely worth cooking in your accommodation if you can face it. The staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful and made every activity fun and memorable. We would definitely recommend families with kids, young and older, to try a break at center parcs.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgraded lodge, they are nicely decorated and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

No major fault found with this wonderful family getaway highly recommend it for family's and even more for couples, my girlfriend has never loved me more since going there.
It's worth going back for The pancake house alone..
The general atmosphere and scenery is what makes that place, the activities are just a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.