We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brantwood Country Hotel

Brantwood Country Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brantwood Country Hotel to your Saves list
Brantwood Country Hotel
near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“not worth money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

we stayed at the brantwood one night was very dissapointed with the room very tatty the bathroom was also dissapointing the shower had to be held by hand has the holder was broken couldnt just stand and shower as normal the bed was very uncomfortable and the carpet was tatty paid hundred pound for one night was so glad we didnt book more could understand it if it was a £25 A NIGHT PLACE the best thing was the breakfeast would of been better off staying at the north lakes for £20 more this hotel really wants updating

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
84
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a lovely cosy small hotel (7 bedrooms) with a very welcoming atmosphere. It is an old building and it is a little shabby in places. We asked for a refurbished double room and were very happy with it; clean and comfortable, obviously recently decorated, with the usual complimentary toiletries in the bathroom, ample supply of tea,coffee,hot chocolate and biscuits and the bonus of Free Wi-fi. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner one evening and breakfast every morning, both were excellent with a good choice of fresh local produce. We will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room as the hotel is slowly being redecorated and is a little shabby in places
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the lakes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Staying in Howtown and we couln't think where to go for our evening meal when i remembered the Brantwood, booked in and had another great meal with my friends, nice meal nice staff and nice atmosphere all added up to a great night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stopped here on the way back from Penrith to Northumberland on 5th May 2013. Absolutely loved the location and the service. I sat in the conservatory which was light and sunny; good selection of drinks and snacks on offer. Staff were friendly, polite and went out of their way to help me. Plenty of parking space in the car park at the back of the hotel; not to mention lovely views. I can't wait to come here again when I'm in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the room was clean and well furbished. Bathroom was also clean. The food however was a bit dated in style and presentation. I had fishcakes which I think were home made but were in the 1950's style where they are coated in Ruskolene type bread crumbs, then the Steak.......It was probably the toughest medium rare steak I have had ever .... but it had fantastic flavour!! I really don't know how they managed that. The breakfast was fine. Not fantastic but nothing to complain about. Compared to hotels in nearby Penrith and Keswick it was the best value on the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband for a weekend in the lakes and was not disappointed. The hotel rooms were spacious, comfortable and peaceful. Despite the room decor being quite tired they were immaculately clean and also cleaned on a daily basis so we were happy. Breakfast had everything we could want on the menu and was of a good size to set us up for the day. We spent the afternoon relaxing by the fire and reading papers, the owner and staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We ate at the hotel both nights because the first night was so delicious. Followed the recommendations to have the ribs and I was not disappointed - they are brilliant and highly highly recommended, my husband had the roast duck which was giant but equally as delicious. Pudding list was endless and all homemade which was great because my husband has a real sweet tooth - highly recommend the toffee cheesecake!! Would definitely come back here don't pay attention to the negative comments as overall a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Brantwood Hotel and have to say how much we enjoyed our stay. We were on our way North to Scotland from Kent and used it as a stop over. On arrival we were shown to our room and were pleased with the room provided, although the owner did tell us that we were in an old style room but they do have three recently refurbished rooms. However it was very comfortable. Our evening meal was lovely. The menu is very varied and all the staff were very friiendly. There were a lot of locals eating there as well which to me is always a good sign. We had a most enjoyable evening, finishing our night with coffee in the conservatory. After a good nights sleep we paid our bill promising to return very soon. Cant wait for our next trip to Scotland as I know where we will be stopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brantwood Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantwood Country Hotel

Address: near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Brantwood Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantwood Country Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brantwood Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.