We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem- only known to locals and by word of mouth.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
017687 72219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 111 restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Gem- only known to locals and by word of mouth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

A colleague had told me about The Pheasant before our holiday to the Lakes. I had forgotten, but we were coming down the A66 from Cockermouth and it was well sign posted. We dropped in and had the most sumptuous creme tea,with rum creme ! The staff were very pleasant so we came back for dinner on our final evening. It had gone from a very quiet place, well away from the main road, into gastronome central, so we didn't get to eat in the restaurant. But the bistro was just as good. I wasn't feeling so great, but we still enjoyed a 4 course meal for £70 which was excellent in every respect. I will come back again to stay, but understand the importance of booking and reserving, this place is really that good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    214
    104
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

Having been to the Pheasant many times before we knew that our friends who we're visiting from London would not be disappointed by our recommendation to eat there and sure enough they enjoyed every moment. We booked a table in the restaurant part of the Inn for 8pm and got the table on the dot but would not have been bothered to eat in the pub area, as this is a very pleasant area as well. The steak pie was to die for and the hosts Johnny and Chrissy with their excellent staff could not have done enough to make our evening more special. We have been coming to Keswick for years and have yet to find anywhere better. Word must be getting around as to what a great place this is to eat as there were many visitors from America and other parts of the country during the week we were there. Great food,great beer, great staff,great atmosphere , simply the best!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh trout was wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Our "Local" friends took us here and had made reservations well in advance as it is very popular with the locals. The menu was really interesting and seemed well balanced. I had the Trout and was nervous after years of being disappointed. It seems that the best trout is always in Northern England! It was delicious, no hint of fishiness and very tender.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

Have nothing negative to say about it, excellent evening meal and drinks; top staff. Would recommend it to anyone but get in quick it's very popular.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food - but make sure you book!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A very professional food operation at the Pheasant, a little way out of the centre of Keswick, but only about 10 minutes walk through Fitz Park.
It is very popular, so booking is essential. They do take chance diners, but you are likely to have to wait. On offer is hearty Lakeland food, always good in our experience, and pleasant service from the young efficient staff. Jennings beers, decent wines.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.