We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
017687 72219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A real gem of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

stayed nearby on a walking weekend with a group of friends and soon made this our local before heading into Keswick for the night. Didn't eat but the food looked magnificent and the tables were always full which is a good sign. Booking early was recommended. Fleur who worked behind the bar was great company and offered a fab service aided by having a great knowledge of musicals! Fleur particularly went out of her way when a member of our group became illl through his diabetes. Fleur with her knowledge of nutrition ensured he ate appropriately to restore his levels and soon restored his health. Thank you Fleur. hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    126
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Walked in at 605pm to be abruptly told 'we are full'. Not a brilliant first impression. The waitress then walked away so I waited for her to come back so I could make further enquires. I asked if we could wait for a table to be told once again very abruptly 'you will be waiting ages we have only just started serving'. Ok, I appreciate it was busy but as we were in Keswick all week and this was the first day of our holiday we decided not to bother with this place again, there is no excuse for poor manners. Claims to be dog friendly but you cannot book a table in the bar area where dogs are allowed so its just pot luck. My advice try the Dog and Gun, great service and friendly staff!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great pub, fab food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Didn't even know this pub existed until a couple of month ago (we're Cumbrian born and bred), looked up for somewhere for Sunday Lunch on trip advisor following a long journey home up the M6 to West Cumbria, stopped again this month and told everyone about it! Sunday lunch is great and lots of fab things on the menu too. Staff and regulars really friendly too, just remember to book if there's more than a couple of you, we've been lucky when stopping on spec.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Busy pub good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

was recommended this pub by our hosts at our B&B (Larrys Lodge) The pub was busy and we had our dogs with us so sat outside for our meals which were really tasty and good value. Dogs are allowed in the pub but are restricted to the bar area which was full and as the weather was quite warm we were happy to sit outside, i am glad we did.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gigantic and delicious beef and ale pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My beef and ale pie was something I will remember for a long time! It was twice the size I expected, and it was gorgeous. I had it with vegetables and chips - a huge meal!! Despite the fact that we also share the camembert starter, I managed to finish my main, simply because it was so good. I would recommend this pub to anyone in the area - and would definitely recommend booking. We had the good sense to do this, and got the last table available for that night. I'm very glad we did, as it was within walking distance of our cottage and made for a lovely evening! I would love to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.