We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming pub with good food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
+44 17687 72219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 116 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Loweswater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Welcoming pub with good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We live locally and chose to dine here for a Friday evening meal with three friends up here on holiday Everything about the experience, from the member of staff who took our booking, to the welcome on our arrival and the service that evening was excellent. The food was tasty and well presented. The pub has a lovely ambiance and we shall certainly dine here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    146
    21
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited with a number of colleagues for lunch. Food was lovely, well presented and plenty of it. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Thanks to the staff and the chef.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This pub was just around the corner from our cottage so good location, food was nice and made to feel welcome, kids enjoyed their food also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, cheshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Setting the record straight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were a party of 7, we all ordered different food and the service was excellent, the kids ate all their food and the adults were delighted with theirs. The food was fresh, tasty and cooked perfectly. The staff could not do more for us and treated everyone with excellent service, nothing was to much trouble and the pub was very busy, but they were attentive to all. No issues with anything we had and I totally disagree with the negative comments some people have written, it was our first time, but it will definitely not be our last...... Well done to all the management and the wonderful staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superior country pub in Keswick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed opposite this pub for a week and went there every night for a post hike beer. The atmosphere was super, always bustling with diners and drinkers alike this is a must for any Keswick visitors.

The beer of course is Jennnings and the quality is excellent.

The food is equally superb and they have a good regular menu as well as some excellent specials too.

All in all a top class establishment and highly worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.