We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb luxury B&B in the Lake District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellas Crag Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellas Crag Guest House
Save
You added Ellas Crag Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Stair, Keswick CA12 5TS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
North England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb luxury B&B in the Lake District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Ella's Crag due to its location at the foot of some of the best mountains in Cumbria.

Our bedroom was Catbells - and true to its name, it had glorious views of that very hill. The bathroom was excellent and very spacious - in fact the whole bedroom was very large and made us feel like we were in a much more expensive establishment. We had morning sun in the bedroom, and due to its dual aspect windows, we still had sun later in the day.

Ed and Jane were very good hosts - very friendly.

We still speak about how lovely this B&B is and we have to return some day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

A beautiful peaceful spot to relax in. Very nice room and bath. Breakfast was delicious, as are their flapjack treats. The location was a little remote and hard to find, and you had to drive someplace for dinner. Great DVD collection and views from the room.

Room Tip: Get the room with the large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September. We picked the room with the bath (Robinson). The views from the bedroom were amazing. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent - the shower and bath was luxurious. The breakfasts were great - excellent porridge/muesli, freshly squeezed orange juice, and good choice of other breakfast foods. Thank you Ed and Jane for an excellent stay. We also liked that their cat, Truffles, deigned to keep us company while we were reading in the lounge in the evening.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Ed and Jane are gracious hosts and love what they do. The rooms were the largest we had during our 2 week trip of England and the bathrooms were spa quality! After long days of hiking in this beautiful area, a hot bath in a quiet B&B was superb.

The location is not walking distance to restaurants/town so eat your meal go back to the B&B to relax and settle in for the night. We liked the location because they are nestled in the Newfoundland Valley and on a great circular car tour close to trails and waterfalls.

We enjoyed our quiet and restful stay and appreciated the tea and biscuits available to us at any hour.

Jane makes a wonderful porridge with whiskey and the cheese omlette was my personal favorite. The breakfast room has a breathtaking view and lots of room to stretch out.

We would love to come back to the Lake District and spend a week hiking the area. We will definitely make Ellas Crag Guest House our home base.

Note: We found having our GPS unit was a lifesaver in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The best stay we have in our roundtrip around the UK. The only thing I can advice to book the room with the bath. We had the room with the shower, because we don’t like to bath. But this room is very small. It’s like they think that people who like to shower don’t need space?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We took our sons, 9 and 15, around England for two weeks. Not only was the Lake District our favorite destination but Ellas Crag was our favorite place to stay. The views from our bedroom windows were stunning, and the breakfasts were the best we had, as well--clearly, they love to cook and do it well. We had fresh-squeezed orange juice, a first for me in my trips to England. The bedroom was clean and cozy and comfortable, the bathroom large, modern. Wonderful to stay out of the city in the Newlands Valley 10 minutes from Keswick. We were able to walk to the start of the Catbells trail, too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Stayed here for four nights in May for a walking holiday. Ellas Crag is in an excellent location: only a few miles from Keswick and the Lakes of Buttermere, Crummock Water, Bassenthwaite and Derwent Water. We lied the simplicity of the room which had all we needed plus a very spacious bathroom with a large tub - great for relaxing after a long walk. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotless and cleaned every day. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and generous, but the serving times are less convenient for people who like to sleep in when on holidays (8:15am is the last sitting). Our room had windows on two sides, offering views of the whole Newlands Valley, Catbells and Skiddaw.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellas Crag Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellas Crag Guest House

Address: Stair, Keswick CA12 5TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellas Crag Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellas Crag Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.