We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarence House to your Saves list
Clarence House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a great few days staying at this B & B. Richard and Karen were very welcoming, and did everything they could to make our stay an enjoyable one. After staying at a few nearby B & Bs in Keswick, we have never found one we were set on returning to. Until now. We will definitely be returning to Clarence House - good sized room, decent bed, tasty breakfast and friendly people.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear David

It's very kind of you to take the time to leave this review and we are very grateful to you. We try our best to make Clarence House a comfortable, relaxing and friendly place for our guests so it is really rewarding for us to receive feedback like this. You certainly made the most of your time in the North Lakes to bag more fells but we imagine there's still plenty on your list to conquer - so please come and visit us again.

Many thanks and kind regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
157
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned from a great holiday in Keswick staying at Clarence House for our second time. Everything at the B and B is excellent , comfortable beds with lovely linen, fantastic shower, tasteful decor, great breakfasts, and extremely clean rooms!! Richard and Karen are so welcoming and friendly it makes it a real pleasure to stay there. Looking forward to staying again very soon!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Janet

Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us again and for bringing your wonderful friends with you. You all filled the house with joy and laughter and made it a very enjoyable week for us too and well done for getting out walking every day. It's really rewarding for us when see guests making the most of their time here and so clearly having a nice holiday and we're glad we were able to help you in any way possible. To be honest we missed you all when you left!

Thanks again for being lovely guests and please come again.

Best Wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Clarence House last week, along with 6 friends and I can honestly say that it has to be one of the best B & Bs I've stayed in.

The rooms are very comfortable, the beds excellent for a good night's sleep after a long day on the fells, the showers are piping hot all day and the delicious breakfasts are just what you need to set you up for the day. Most of all, however, Karen and Richard make you feel genuinely welcome, nothing is too much trouble.

If you're into walking, Richard's knowledge of the fells and lakes is extensive, matched only by his appreciation of the local hostelries!

Clarence House is a real home from home.


Clive & Maggie,

Selsdon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Clive & Maggie

We are very grateful to you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. You and your whole group of friends were such a pleasure to have stay and it gives us a great deal of satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your Keswick holiday so much. We have a deep love for this beautiful area and feel so lucky to live in Keswick and we're really keen to do all we can to enable our guests to sample some of its delights whilst enjoying the best hospitality we can offer.

Thank you once more and please do come and visit us again

Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Best b and b in Keswick, Richard and Karen are fantastic hosts, Richard has excellent knowledge of walks in the area and not forgetting Karen and her lovely breakfasts, cannot wait to stop their for a third time. Helen & Graham, Warrington

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Helen & Graham

It's very kind of you to post this review and thank you for coming to stay with us again. One of the great things about running a guest house is when really nice people such as yourselves come back to visit us again. You'll have to come again - the good weather and the Ospreys are now here!

All our very best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moggy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here in February for a couple of nights and had a fantastic time, the room was lovely (and huge) the welcome was as warm as it gets and Richard and karen were so friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and really filling so prepared us well for the day ahead.

The location was spot on, only a few seconds walk into town,which was great, especially in the rain.

Will most certainly be back,

Room Tip: For great pubs try the dog n gun and the George, also try the orange tree and magnolia for Belgian b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Moggy 17

Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review, we appreciate it very much. It's nice to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that your break in Keswick was a success despite the damp conditions!

Thanks again and please come and visit us again.

Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just spent another great weekend at Clarence House; it was great to catch up with Richard and Karen who were extremely welcoming as ever. Breakfast was great (and very filling) as normal and Richard can always be relied upon for walking or activity suggestions.

The room was comfortable and quiet; it was really great to come back to a warm room and a hot shower after a day of walking (weather wasn’t good but that’s not a problem if you visit one of Keswick’s many outdoor shops for the right clothing – I’m sure Richard would be happy to advise on this), there was even a card from Richard and Karen who had noticed that it was our Wedding Anniversary; we were touched and very grateful for this.

I can’t recommend Clarence House strongly enough, it’s in a perfect location for both the town and the hills; the rooms are comfortable and extremely clean and I would be gobsmacked (that word doesn’t get used enough these days) if you could find more warm and friendly hosts.

Thank you very much once again.
Richard & Laura

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Richard & Laura

It was a genuine pleasure having you both stay with us again and come here to celebrate your Anniversary. We really enjoyed hearing all about your trip to Patagonia and Antarctica but we are seriously very jealous!

Thanks for posting this lovely review and we hope we might see you again this year but if not all the best for your other holidays and trips.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, Cumbria, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Another excellent 2 night stay and catch up with Richard and Karen - such great hosts. We took advantage of their £2 vouchers off the price of tickets at Theatre by the Lake, as this is a regular reason we come up to stay in Keswick. Theatre and lots of walking, great breakfast and always back to that lovely warm room. Perfect break again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear South Lakes

Thank you for returning to Clarence House and for posting another kind review. It's great for us to have such friendly and active guests and we really enjoyed chatting with you about some of your other travels and adventures.

It would be lovely to see you both again in the future - the next time you fancy another Theatre/walking break in the North Lakes.

Best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen and Richard welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake.All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attarctive dining room, complete with victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarence House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.