We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet Weekend made better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarence House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarence House
Save
You added Clarence House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wet Weekend made better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First time staying in northern lakes - so from TA chose Clarence House hosted by Richard and Karen. Could not have chosen better! Street parking was straightforward and for the four nights we were staying we did not move the car once, the location being ideal for Keswick town (with all its restaurants) and the bus station (and access to both the northern and southern lakes) Richard was the perfect host and a mine of information about the walks, ramble, hikes and other attractions. Karen was in charge of breakfast - excellent choices and preparation. The fruit salad offering a great selection. The room was spacious with an excellent mattress and Egyptian cotton duvet (and with really good pillows) The en-suite shower room although of modest proportions offered a powerful shower and really good toiletries! In summary - one of the best B&B's we have stayed at with excellent and friendly hosts who made up for a typical wet weekend in the Lakes!

Room Tip: We had a "room at the top" - an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review, it really is very kind of you to take the trouble to do this. We're so pleased you enjoyed your 4 night stay at Clarence House and hope you will return to visit us again. We love Keswick and get tremendous satisfaction from doing all we can to help our guests explore and enjoy this most beautiful corner of England.

Thanks again and our very best wishes
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
158
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had a lovely stay at Clarence house and definitely would recommend to family and friends.
Richard and Karen are very friendly and welcoming and are a nice couple to get along with. Karen makes fantastic breakfasts and Richard is very helpful tour guide with a variety of maps and leaflets at hand.
The room was very clean and tidy and smelt so fresh! Lovely en-suite shower and nice shampoo/shower gel. Free-view TV and free WiFi were nice as well.
We usually tend to stay in hotels, this was a new experience that we would definitely do again and especially at Clarence house. Clarence house is an ideal location 5 minutes walk from town centre and lakeside.
Thanks again Richard and Karen

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Clarence House and we're very grateful for this kind review. We wish you both the very best of luck for your future together and hope you'll come and see us again.
Regards
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent B&B in a great location. The very welcoming hosts made our stay even better. Richard provided us accurate local knowledge which made our trip a lot easier and more enjoyable. The place has been recently redecorated, the bedroom was super comfortable and the breakfast delicious. I definitely recommend the Clarence house to anyone who wants to spend a wonderful weekend at the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Camilla
Thank you for recommending us to others and for posting such nice comments about Clarence House. We get real satisfaction from having nice guests like you and Carl and from hearing that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope the journey back to London was a smooth one and hope you may come and see us again.
Best Wishes
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you want excellent accommodation, a good breakfast and a source of local knowledge, then Clarence House is the perfect choice for your stay in Keswick. We were on a hillwalking trip and Richard provided us with a great deal of local knowledge, advice and maps whilst he served us breakfast. The breakfasts were a feature of our stay and Karen ensures that you get exactly what you want to set you up for the day. Clarence House is 5 mins walk from the centre of Keswick and Richard's knowledge extents to pointing you in the direction of sources of good beer and good food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review - it really is very kind of you. We like having keen walkers coming to stay with us and when we see that guests have enjoyed their walks and their evenings meal and drinks it gives us genuine satisfaction. We're also very pleased that you liked our house and Karen's breakfasts - we do try our very best to make our visitors stay in Keswick as enjoyable as possible.
Kind Regards
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Top class B&B. Recently refurbished, excellent breakfast, and very welcoming owners who take an interest in their guests and provide invaluable (and accurate) local knowledge to make your stay a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for coming to stay with us, for being true gentlemen and for posting these generous comments. Thanks also for your donation to the Keswick Mountain Rescue Team which is very thoughtful and gracious of you. There's plenty more peaks and routes around these parts chaps so please come south again and visit us again.
Best Wishes
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door to a warm and personal greeting from Richard, we knew Clarence House was something special. Having been open just over a year after a complete refurbishment, it strikes the right note of relaxed contemporary, whilst retaining the features of a Victorian residence. We were certainly glad we had chosen to spend four nights here.

The bedroom was spacious, well-furnished (and en-suite), and like the whole house, spotlessly clean. There was a great range offered for breakfasts plus a superb fresh fruit salad each morning. Both Richard and Karen are very friendly and are very keen to help you out in any way they can, be that recommendations for eating out, walks or exploring the general area. The B&B itself is in a great location in the Keswick sidestreets - five minutes walk from the town centre and park; on-street parking wasn't an issue and we often managed to park right outside.

There's little else to say - and nothing to criticise. With the warm welcome, competitive pricing, great facilities and location we would recommend it 100%. If we are staying in Keswick again without the dog we will definitely be back.

In summary: Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such fantastic feedback, it really is very kind of you. It was a genuine pleasure having fellow Lakelovers staying and we do hope you'll visit us again - especially if you're going to bring the great weather with you!

Thanks again and kind regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for the Keswick Beer Fest. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is well worth getting up for. The owners are lovely people who take a genuine interest in their guests and are very helpful. Richard had taken the trouble to mark the route to the beer festival on a map for us! Had a brilliant time and would recommend to anyone visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Jill & Andy
It was a pleasure having you and your friends come to stay with us and we're so pleased you enjoyed the whole weekend in Keswick - not just the Beer Festival. Thanks very much for posting this kind review, it would be lovely to see you all again in the near future.
Best wishes
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen and Richard welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake.All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attarctive dining room, complete with victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarence House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.