We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakeland Pedlar - CLOSED

The Lakeland Pedlar
Hendersons Yard, Bell Close Car Park, Keswick CA12 5JD, England
017687-74492
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Congleton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have been eating here for many years and, though I miss the old management,the new owners have kept the ambience and the quality of food to the same high standard.The chilli bowl is excellent and the accompanying salad is very tasty and inventive.It would be my first choice eating establishmen in Keswick and that is saying something as there are so many good pubs,restaurants cafes and bistros in the town.Try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMax M, Owner at The Lakeland Pedlar, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    42
    9
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited this restaurant for both an evening meal and a breakfast. The evening was very busy as there was some live music, but they managed to squeeze us in.the menu was varied and the chosen goulash fresh and tasty. Great pudding as well! Breakfast porridge with honey was well cooked and substantial, with the toast being made from a "proper" loaf of bread. Clean, bright and friendly, it would be worth finding this bistro which is just behind the main square.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Lakeland Pedlar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I haven't been to the Pedlar since January and it has obviously had a make over and I think has new owners too. I've never had a bad meal or experience at the Pedlar - every time I come to the Lakes I make sure i visit - at least once, so I hoped the new management would live up to expectation - I really wasn't disappointed!

We booked a table but on arrival only half our party were there - the rest were off buying more coats from the myriad of outdoor shops! As it was cold outside we had a hot chocolate - just to warm us through - excellent it was too! Topped with whipped cream and served with a "flake" bar - it couldn't have been more chocolatey!

Realising we were waiting a while for our fellow diners to arrive the young waiter bought us some olives to keep us going - a really nice gesture and without charge also!

Once we had all arrived we ordered and soon were served with some of the best vegetarian food we've ever had - portions are very good and taste - superb! The Nacho's are a favourite and didn't disappoint again - I think the portion size has increased though as even I found it a struggle!!!

Great service. Great food. Good portion sizes. Good Price. Fantastic location - a winning combination!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I visited here last weekend with a friend and we had the most delicious chocolate marble cake. The coffee and tea were nice too. The cafe had lovely comfy sofas to sit on plus it's dog friendly which is great if we have the dogs with us.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stopped by for lunch on our way up to Buttermere for the weekend and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. We had very tasty burritos which were presented beautifully and had a nice kick; a very tasty meal. Service was unobtrusive but friendly and if I lived locally I'd certainly make it a regular haunt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lakeland Pedlar also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakeland Pedlar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.