We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added West View Guest House to your Saves list
West View Guest House
The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Lichfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here in March for 2 nights for a Mountain Bike Race in Whinlatter. Dawn & Paul were very hospitable, nothing was too much trouble...including the very early breakfast we requested on the Sunday morning!! (which I have to say, was delicious). We stayed in the Causey Pike room, which is massive! The view is just stunning. The location is ideal for a quick stroll across the road into the centre of town.
All in all a great choice of B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for writing such a nice review. We enjoy taking care of competitors and their bikes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The room and ensuite were spacious and very clean and tidy. Dawn was welcoming and hospitable, giving plenty of tips about places we wanted to visit. Parking is on-street (free) or public car park and whilst walking around when we were there I got the impression that's quite common for Keswick B&Bs. The location was great for getting to the lake and only a couple minutes walk into town. Breakfast was delicious with a great choice and exceptionally well cooked.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room as they vary in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for posting such a good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

fantastic guest house, stayed for one night, owners could not do enough for us, even drying our boots and sorting out the car!. lovely room and amazing views with the bonus of a fantastic breakfast. will go back again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for such a good review. We like our guests to have a good care free time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on 14/10/13 for 1 night. We stayed in the Causey Pike room. This is a very spacious room which is clean, and had everything we needed. It has a a king size bed, a very modern bathroom with underfloor heating and walk-in shower, a walk-in wardrobe and fabulous views over Hope Park and the fells beyond. The battery operated candles were a nice quirky touch.

We managed to get a parking space on the street right outside the building. We were lucky with this because we had been driving up and down faffing about for a while, looking for a space. We had just pulled over to ask the owner, Dawn, for advice which she was very helpful with when someone got in their car and drove off. Good timing! If you struggle with parking, ask Dawn and she will help. She is friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Breakfast was great. A selection of fruit, cereals, juices and coffee are provided and you get a cooked breakfast to order. It was very tasty. The sausages are up there with the best I've ever tasted!

All in all, a great place to stay if you are visiting Keswick. Its ideally placed for the town, theatre and lake and we would recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for such good review. Everyone seems to like the electronic candles! We are always pleased to know that our guests have had a great time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked this B&B via the internet as a surprise for my wife.
This was our first time in keswick so it was hit or miss where we would book.
Could not have been more pleased and satisfied with my choice.
The welcome from Dawn was excellent and our room was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was supurb and Dawn and Paul were very helpful with information on where to walk and where to drink and eat.
Would definately use this if we were to return to Keswick.
The location of the guest house for the lake and the high street could hot have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for such a good review. I think part of the surprise is that it wasn't raining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed in West View on 3rd for one night great b and b . The owner Dawn made we very welcome when we arrived ,a very lovely lady .The en suite was first class with everything we needed.Had a very comfortable nights sleep .Breakfast was first class, from the juices to the great home jams .We will be giving this B and B a call in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely, spacious room (large and comfy bed!) with a very modern en suite bathroom, all very clean. We also enjoyed the cosy and beautiful guest lounge. Breakfast is scrumptious with all fresh products and home made jam. The hosts Dawn and Paul are really friendly, they made us feel at home from the first moment. Above all they are experts on fell walking so they gave us excellent advise for our walks which we appreciated very much. We intend to return to West View as it was the perfect B&B for a perfect holiday in the Lakes!

Room Tip: we booked the superiour en-suite room which is spacious with a luxury bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Guest House

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West View is a large house in the most popular street in Keswick. Close to the lake, theatre, shops, pubs and restaurants, overlooking Hope Park. Fantastic views from the all-day guest lounge. Our fabulous breakfast will set you up for the day. All tastes catered for. Our prestige rooms have wet room showers, toilet and basin, and king size beds. Prestige rooms can also accommodate a cot or small bed for one young child. Standard rooms have ensuite shower, basin and toilet. One standard room is on the ground floor for easy access.We have secure internal storage for bikes. We can advise you on walking and cycling routes and trails. We can also take you on a guided trail run if you feel fit and bring your kit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your West View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.