We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cragside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cragside to your Saves list
Cragside
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
newcastle
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This bed and breakfast is great value for money the room was very spacious clean and lovely and warm breakfast was very filling in a good location for the town centre free parking and the owners very helpful and friendly would definitely go back .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
107
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have stayed in a couple of b&b's in Keswick and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Cragside. Very friendly couple who run it and a breakfast cooked to perfection.Within easy reach to walk into Keswick so there is no need to move the car at all.Exceptional cleanliness and value. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: room 6 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

First time we have stayed in a Guest House and this one is exceptional. Spotless/ fully equipped/spacious room with everything available as per the best of hotels and with the availability of good on street parking. Easy to walk into the town centre or to Fitz Park. We had our dog with us and this was no problem. Breakfast was cooked fresh and great choice available (we went for the half portion and this was more than sufficient). Would certainly recommend this B & B as a place to stay. It was very quiet and we did not hear any noise at all from other guests and it was full.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor so quite a few stairs to climb but the room was superb in all aspects. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Another trip to keswick and staying at cragside, this is the fourth time at least we have returned here. The reasons why are firstly the very reasonable costs per night and the standard of cleanliness alongside the hospitable hosts who really are so nice. Parking is good, not far at all from the town and the views from the rooms are great. Only thing to grumble over this time was the couples staying above us in room 6 were disgracefully noisy each night on returning from their night out, same when a new couple arrived on the Saturday, the constant stomping of feet and slamming of toilet door and continuing visits to toilet at least 4 times per night which each time they slammed excessively and fell over on each occasion was extremely inconsiderate, I wouldn't mind but they were both couples in their late 50's or early 60's who should have behaved better!

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask for a room at the very top of the B&B, only because we noted the couple a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Clean, spacious room, well decorated, very comfortable bed. Lovely quiet road, no problems parking right outside the B&B. Quick walk into the centre of Keswick. Owners very helpful. Great choice at breakfast, all very well cooked. Couldn't ask for more really- as the title says, this place comes thoroughly recommended. Nothing to add to reviews which have gone before, but enjoyed my stay and wanted to recognise this online in the hopes more people will visit!

Only real advice is to make sure you book directly with the B&B to stay rather than through a third-party booking agency as you get a better price that way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great B & B near the centre of Keswick (only 5 minutes walk to the centre). Breakfasts were big and excellent!! The room was very clean and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My friend and I booked a two night stay at Cragside. We wanted a twin en-suite and were given an excellent room with single bed and kingsize bed. The shower was powerful and the water was nice and hot. The room had a nice view onto Walla Crag and the place was really clean. We loved the breakfast, which was really well cooked and presented. Several of the other guests we spoke to use Cragside on a regular basis, as shall we when we plan another walking trip to the Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cragside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragside

Address: 39 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragside 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a warm and friendly welcome at Cragside. Rooms are all en-suite, well appointed and have splendid mountain views. Excellent breakfast choice. Located in the heart of the beautiful English Lake District, in the charming Victorian town of Keswick, Cragside is an excellent base for mountain walking, water sports (on Derwentwater), or a relaxing holiday in some of the most stunning scenery England has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cragside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cragside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.