We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic B&B in the heart of Keswick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allerdale House Keswick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Save
You added Allerdale House Keswick to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER BREAK OFFER.
Ranked #8 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic B&B in the heart of Keswick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked Allerdale on the back of other Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom filled with lovely toiletries. There was a great choice of fresh fruit and cooked items for breakfast and Barbara and Paul had lots of helpful information on places to go. It's only a short 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Keswick, making it an ideal base if you don't want to use your car. The best thing about Allerdale is that it is really good value for money compared to other B&Bs in the Lake District. It was our favourite B&B on our trip and we hope to be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
276
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I were just able to stay one night in Keswick on our way back home. We chose to stay here after reading the excellent reviews for this B&B. We were not disappointed. As I've already typed, we were only able to stay here one night, and this was the only problem - we'd loved to have stayed longer here, using this as a great base to explore Keswick and the surrounding area. Great hosts, accommodation, food, and location.
John

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and on arrival were met by Paul who helped us park and offered to carry bags in. The whole place was spotlessly clean and the room was extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was fantastic - loads of choice and the cooked breakfast was delicious!
Paul and Barbara were extremely friendly, taking the time to talk to us and discuss our plans, even when they were probably very busy.
Great food, location and hosts - will definitely stay again when in Keswick!

Room Tip: If staying again I would definitely try for one of the larger superior rooms -they looked gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We pulled into Allerdale House on a rainy evening and Paul was at our car door with an umbrella before I could turn off the motor. Every aspect of our three night stay - room, breakfast, helpful advice & recommendations - was flawless. Paul & Barbara run one of the best B&Bs in the UK, not just Keswick.
Excellect location, too. 5 minute walk to town center. 5 minute walk to great hiking trails.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just had a weekend at Allerdale and it was brilliant. We found it on Tripadvisor and it fully justifies its number 1 ranking. The place is perfect. Outside there are lovely gardens and window boxes, the fact its so nice outside gives you and indication of what its like inside. We stayed in room number 3. To us it was perfect, spotless, and comfortable with everything you would need. Despite this Paul and Barbara told us that it was next on the list for a refurb! You can tell that they take a pride in their property and constantly work to keep the place tip top.
Allerdale House is everything you'll read on Tripadvisor and more! Clean, homely peaceful and relaxing, with superb breakfasts!
Hope there are vacancies for us on out next trip to the lakes because we will definately be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with my stay at allerdale house! Me ad my daughter had a great time. Room was great very comfortable very very clean location was lovely. The breakfast was amazing! Paul and barbara where very helpful with everything. I will definatly be staying here when I visit keswick again! Would highly recommend allerdale house such a friendly an comfortable guest house!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a wonderful week at Allerdale House which truely lives up to its tripadvisor ranking as the number 1 B&B in Keswick. Located just a short stroll from Keswich centre it offers: a warm, welcoming and peaceful environment; quality accommodation with comfortable lounge/local interest library. The superb breakfast sets you up for the day. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts (even loaning a pair of cuff-links for the wedding we were attending).
Thank you for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded 4 Star Silver Award by Visit England. ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE PAUL & BARBARA BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS CARS. We also have a GUESTS LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Winners of Keswick In Bloom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allerdale House Keswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.