We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each visit is more enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fair Booking local offers
Ranked #5 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Leamington Spa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Each visit is more enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I found Portland House by accident online a couple of years ago. Since then I have been back several times and have brought several friends and my parents on trips to Keswick. A warm welcome from two lovely hosts is guaranteed, with a relaxed atmosphere and excellent level of cleanliness, rooms and shortbread! The breakfast is always fantastic too. Its location is good for access to Keswick, as well as getting in and out of the town by car. I am going walking again in 2 weeks and wouldn't consider any other B+B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for another great review. It is always a pleasure to see you and it is nice to know you won't we checking in anywhere else in Keswick! We have had guests stay with us that you have recommended us to and we really do appreciate it, thank you. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
188
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Denise and Rod are excellent hosts who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. Rod has a brilliant sense of humour and Denise's shortbread is to die for.......new years day was lovely with chocolates and bucks fizz at the breakfast table. Breakfast itself is freshly cooked and delicious with a wide choice. The rooms are huge and as the title says it's the little touches that make all the difference, they seem to have thought of everything you could possibly need to make your stay welcoming. Would happily revisit time and again. Thanks to both of you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We enjoyed having you to stay over the New Year, the banter was great fun! We have tried to think of everything that we would like to find in a guest house, and it makes it worthwhile when our guests tell us they appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A big thanks to Denise and Rod for helping make our New Year break a memorable one. Nothing is to much trouble for their guests from allowing an early check in, the offer of water proofs, advice on walks, where to eat, choice at breakfast, coffee for the flask, the list goes on.
The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable without being to fussy and twee. My girlfriend was also very happy that the lovely shortbread biscuits were replenished after the first night.
Parking in the streets can be a bit of a lottery but we still managed to find a space nearby.
There is a lot of B&B accommodation to choose from in Keswick but if our experience is anything to go by Portland House more than ticks all the boxes topped off with the excellent service from Denise & Rod.
Thanks once again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We are so pleased your group enjoyed your New Year break with us and that you were able to get out for your planned walks. We hope that we may see you again when you next visit Keswick.
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've booked out Portland House for a group of 12 friends (not always the same bunch) for the 4 day Christmas Fair weekend for the last 14 years & we are delighted to report our stay just keeps getting better. Portland House wins for starters due to it's location and bright corner position. Inside it's been well converted and and is open and airy. All the rooms are to a high standard and very warm and comfortable.

We've worked our way though 3 previous owners who all looked after us well and are now delighted by the friendly and genuinely committed approach by Rod & Denise. They really do try to go that extra mile to make sure you have a great stay - thanks guys!

Breakfast is always excellent with lots of choice - top tip for an express 'get on them hills early'
breakfast is to ask to pre order for 8.30.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but Room 4 is fab - its the most expensive but size & dual aspect make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We have enjoyed having your party to stay with us for the 3 years that we have been at Portland House. It has become the start of our Christmas celebrations as we decorate our dining room ready for your arrival! Your comments are really appreciated and we were so glad that you had brilliant weather and were able to get out on the fells each day. As requested, we have already pencilled you in for next year and look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a weekend away that wouldn't break the bank and got us out and about in the country side. A friend highly reccomemded the Lake Districk and recommended us to stay in Keswick at Portland House.

The owners, Denise and Rod are really friendly and welcoming but at the same time not to intrusive...the balance between friendly interaction and privacy was just right!

Another consideration for me is my dietry requirment as I am Celiac (allergic to gluten) which is very often a real problem as not many understand the severity of the condition. Thankfully this was not the case here, Denise knew of this condition and assured me that it wouldn't be a problem. To my delight, the only item I couldn't have at breakfast was black pudding, no loss there for me! Both the gluten free sausages and bread were yummy and I noticed my bread was brought out seperately, showing that Denise really did understand my condition and the possibility of contamination from gluten products to non gluten products. Such a relief and made our stay completely stress free!

So, I had full english both mornings and while Denise was cooking up a our fantastic breakfast Rod took care of us and the other guests in the dining room, great service, with lots of friendly banter (Rod's a real character!)

Both Denise and Rod are also very knowledgable of the area and all the recommendations were great. Lots of walking, fresh air and of course pub lunches!!

Fantastic weekend away, howerver if your a soft southerner like me, take thermals!! It's seriously 10 degrees colder up there... enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us. We always ask guests if they have any special dietary needs when we take a booking and we are glad that you were able to enjoy your cooked breakfast without any worries!
We hope to see you up here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just back from my second stay at this B and B. It is not just great and spotlessly clean accommodation, Denise and Rod are incredible welcoming and helpful people and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are just fab and Denise not only cooks wonderful shortbread for your room but also cooks the best porridge in Keswick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend stay in Keswick at the Portland House B and B. It was one of the best we have stayed at and a very short walk to the main shopping area. Denise was very welcoming and a fountain of information. the house was extremely clean and well cared for. Breakfast was delicious, not only could you choose whatever you fancied, but it was all made with quality ingredients and well cooked, lovely homemade shortbread. Definately will visit again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you Joyce and we are pleased that you felt comfortable staying here and enjoyed your stay. Our single room is very popular and we try to ensure everyone who stays with us feels welcome. Keswick is a great place to visit as a single visitor or part of a group. We look forward to seeing you again!
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Portland House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list