We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Granola!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble House
Save
You added Amble House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA 124DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Granola!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you visit Keswick we would highly recommend that you stay at Amble House... Here's a few reasons why:

We stayed for 2 nights from Friday 22nd to Sunday 24th February 2013.

- The warm welcome from Judy and continued friendliness of her and Richard was fantastic, this couple are just made for B&B hosting
- The breakfast choices and quality of local produce was excellent - lots of home made goodies including Judy's Granola
- The attention to detail was wondeful from a corkscrew and wine glasses available in your room to little tiny scissors on the breakfast table to cut your sauce sachets
- They made us feel really welcome and were very interested in what we had planned - a detailed Met weather forecast was produced to aid our walk plans too

Great weekend, great B&B, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thankyou so much for posting your comments and saying such nice things about us!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the Granola too! It was lovely to meet you both and we're glad the weather was good enough for your Great Gable climb [and slide too! ] Richard and I would love to see you both again next time you visit Keswick. Thanks again for your feedback and very generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    3
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
117
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are a gay couple and stayed here for 4 nights early January. The location was great, just a short walk from the centre of Keswick on a quiet street. We were given a very warm welcome when we arrived. We booked a double, but as the king-size was free they let us have that. Which was very nice of them. Our room was spotless clean and pleasantly decorated with good quality furniture.The area was quiet and we had good nights sleep in a very comfy bed. There was drink making facilities in the room and fresh milk in a flask container replenished each day.The bathroom had complementary toiletries, which we didn't use but its great to have just incase we forgot anything. The shower was a power shower and towels good quality. Breakfast was served at either 8.30 or 8.45am, which ever you choose. A choice of breakfast is available and you select it and the time you want it the night before. The choice for breakfast was great which is so important when you are staying quite a few days. We are vegetarian and appreciate the choice of how we wanted our eggs, fried, poached, scrambled. We also had Lakeland Plum bread at breakfast and tasted lovely. The hosts Judy and Richard were excellent and helped us plan our days, providing us with maps and books of the local area. The lake is only a short walk away and a variety of other walks also. We had a great holiday which was made special by the attention of Judy and Richard. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Amble House. It was great to meet you both and to hear of your plans to visit Canada next year - do hope all goes well! The weather was kind to you both and we can see the photos you took and posted - thankyou they are lovely! It was a pleasure to move you to a larger room as its something we like to do for our guests when we can, especially in the quieter months of the low season. We look forward to seeing you both again the next time Keswick calls out to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights on the 25th and 26th October and couldn't have found a better bed and breakfast. We love Keswick and have stayed on many occasions, but this is the best place so far!!
Judy gave us a lovely welcome and showed us to our room, Room 3 with a King size bed and comfy chairs in a large bay window. The refreshments in the room were excellent; a wide choice of teas, hot chocolate and fresh coffee for a caffetierre. Judy also provided fresh milk in a thermous which was wonderful as I personally hate the taste of UHT milk!
The room was very well equipped with toileteries and a good size hair dryer.
The breakfast was beautifully cooked, not at all fatty- big choice of componants all locally scourced and delicious. There was also a lovely buffet of fresh fruit salad, grapefruit, prunes granola, natural yogurt, choice of fruit yougurts, cereals and fresh fruit. Judy also made us a lovely packed lunch for our climb up Cat Bells for a very reasonable price.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We will definately be back! Thank you Richard and Judy for a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thankyou for such glowing comments! Richard and I appreciate the time you have taken to do this for us and its gratifying to know we helped to make your recent stay in Keswick an enjoyable one. We enjoyed meeting you both and are very pleased you were happy and comfortable here and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Amble House last weekend for two nights and have to say this is the best B&B we have every stayed at in the lakes! The hosts Richard and Judy were fantatstic. Nothing was to much trouble. We received a lovely warm welcome from Judy and shown up to room 6 on the top floor. She explained everything we needed to know about the room, breakfast menu and things to do. The little touches to the room made us feel quite at home and Richard even brought some fresh milk up to the room in a small flask to make fresh coffee. The room was spotlessly clean and the power shower was great after a long days walking up Cat Bells & High Spy. My Girlfriend enjoyed the homemade Granola with the wide selection of fresh fruit, whilst I opted for the Full English Breakfast both days which I can honestly say was superb! Richard was very helpful during breakfast giving us the latest weather forecast and lending us a map to help us on our way up the hills. We would also like to recommend the local cinema in Keswick, which is really "oldie worldy" and showing the latest releases, definitely worth supporting it.

Steve & Clare (Alnwick, Northumberland)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
HELLO! It was certainly a pleasure to meet you both and we are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Amble House. The weather was on your side too so your walk up Cat Bells was a good one and quite fast too!! Fancy getting to the Lodore Falls Hotel too early for afternoon tea - you missed a treat! It would be lovely to see you both again next time you visit Keswick. Thankyou for taking the time to write and post your comments - Richard and I really appreciate it. I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury, lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with friends and I have to say I have stayed in 3 B & B's this year and this one comes above and beyond any of them! (and I thought they were excellent). Judy and Richard have thought of everything, it really felt like home, really couldn't fault it. The bed was so comfortable, I slept so well. The breakfasts were the best I've seen and they really had something for everyone. Do not hesitate booking this B & B - it's fab!

Room Tip: We had rooms 3 & 6 and both were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thankyou for such a lovely review!! Your comments are most welcome. Richard and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Amble House and that you felt so comfortable. It was great to meet you all and we hope to see you again when you are next in Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After staying in many hotels and being extremely disapointed by the standards, my friend suggested we look for a guest house. We looked on the reviews and Amble House was looking good (though the hotels did in the pictures). I took a huge sigh of relief when Richard took us to our room. It was lovely. Absolutely spotless, a really comfortable bed and all the little touches, which made it so special. You don't get this in most hotels. The breakfast choices were amazing and it was all freshly cooked. Judy and Richard have obviously put a lot of thought and care into achieving what they have. If we go to Keswick again, we wouldn't even bother looking at any other accommodation because we have already found the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thankyou so much for your very generous comments! Richard and I are so pleased you heaved a sigh of relief upon arrival!! It was certainly lovely to meet you all and to know that you enjoyed your stay and would stay here again next time you are in Keswick. Thanks again for your comments and for taking time to do a review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amble House just gets better. Two friends and I enjoy a week's walking, staying in Keswick.
I can honestly say that I have never had a better breakfast than that which Richard and Judy provide. Everything, and more, than one could wish for from the full (vey full!) english breakfast to smoked salmon or kippers, including, of course, scrambled egg and toast, etc. The food is locally sourced and organically produced where possible.
But it is the lovely touches that make such a difference. Sweets in the rooms, choclolates on the pillows, fresh milk in a flask and the small scissors which make opening the sauce sachets so easy.
We are already looking forward to returning next year!

Doug, Frank and Les.

Room Tip: We are very happy with the rooms, - we all sleep like logs anyway after a day out walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thankyou for your generous comments and for the time taken to write this review. We are always pleased to see you and happy that you enjoyed your stay again. Hopefully next year we will see better/drier weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA 124DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amble House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.