We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Friendly B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA 124DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Quality Friendly B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

First time staying in Keswick and certainly picked an excellent b & b in Amble House. Very clean and comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast. Stayed four nights and were made to feel very welcome by hosts Judy and Richard would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thankyou so much for your very kind remarks. It was really good to meet you all and we were so very happy at your success in the race!! Congratulations again! We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay here with us and would love to see you again when you next decide to visit Keswick. Thankyou once again for your very much appreciated feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
105
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent B&B with spotless room, very good breakfast and welcoming hosts. We stayed for two nights recently in the small double room which is big enough for a couple of days, don't let it put you off if only the small double is available. There was enough wardrobe space and a well thought out en-suite making the most of the space available. The breakfast was well cooked and a good choice, the fresh fruit salad was my favourite with plenty of fresh strawberries, blueberries etc. Fresh milk for the tea/coffee in the room was a nice touch, as was the range of tea/coffee available in the room. We enjoyed chatting to Richard and Judy who obviously enjoy running the B&B as much as people enjoy staying there. Will definitely return when we are next in Keswick

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thankyou very much for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Amble House. We're pleased you found everything to your liking, including our small double. Regular guests enjoy staying in the small room and as you said it has everything you could need for a couple of nights stay. We do have much larger rooms of course but when you booked that was the only one available so we are glad you enjoyed yourselves! It will be great to see you both again when you next decide to visit Keswick. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We love Keswick & we love staying at Amble House been lots of times over last six years wouldn't stay anywhere else. Judy & Richard are perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble the rooms are very well equipped & spotless with lots of nice little touches like chocs on the pillows & biscuits on the tea tray also toiletries in the bathroom not to mention the big white fluffy towels. whatever you like for breakfast you'll find it here all delicious i love judy's home made granola, jam & marmalade. if full english is your thing i dare you to have the lot it's huge all well cooked & fresh local produce where possible. The location we think is just right a short walk into town so not noisy when you sleep. There isn't anything i don't like about Amble House it's perfect for a stay in the lake district we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 &3 are larger so bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Hello Selby!! Thankyou so much for writing this review and saying such lovely things!! It is always such a pleasure to see you both knowing that you feel at home and enjoy everything we have to offer. Is it really six years you've been coming to Keswick and staying here? We know you love the town and area and always enjoy your days of walking - reasonable weather this time too! Look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It was our first visit to Amble House, but it certainly won't be our last.
Excellent hosts, excellent room and excellent food.Great touch with the fresh milk brought to the room.
We had a great couple of nights, slept great, very quiet.
Plenty of parking on the street outside.
Telling all of our friends about you.!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Wow! What a great review! Thankyou so much for your feedback! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for telling your friends about us - it would be lovely to welcome them here to Amble House if they should decide to visit Keswick. Rich and I look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Amble House. Everything went brilliantly smoothly; good communication prior to visit, warm welcome, spotless and tastefully decorated room with complementary tea, coffee, biscuits and sweets, delicious breakfasts with an incredible range of food on offer, and flexibility to come and go whenever convenient. The hosts were happy to go out of their way to help and effort had clearly been made to ensure food and drink were locally produced or fair trade where possible. The room and ensuite were cosy, but this was in part due to the set up of twin beds in what is usually a double room, and there was plenty of storage space. Apart from this, difficult to criticise and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Richard and I are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay here at Amble House. Thankyou for your review and for the time taken to write it. We are grateful for the kind comments you made regarding all the breakfast selection we offer and our use of local produce and Fairtrade products. We know you enjoyed the Christian Convention and all that Keswick had to offer during your time here and look forward to seeing you both again when you next visit Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Sorry for delay in writing review but as we talked about I've been away on business. Just wanted to thank you both for your wonderful hospitality dureing our recent stay. I'm still missing the breakfasts. Rooms although on the smaller side of what i'm used to are extremely well equiped, and would have no hesitation in recommending amble house ot anyone and not surprised you get so many repeat visitors. Hope to return sometime soon, thanks again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this review for us! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us too! It would be lovely to have you stay here again should you decide to visit Keswick again sometime. Thankyou once again for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Amble House. The accommodation is spotless, the rooms are gorgeous, everything you want is provided (a great selection of teas and coffees in the room and the widest selection of Fairtrade products I have seen, a brochure with all you need to know about Keswick and its attractions) and the breakfast selection was divine. We needed to stay longer to make sure we tried everything. Richard and Judy were the perfect hosts, so friendly and attentive we felt like we were staying with friends. We will definitely return.

Sally

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thankyou so much for your glowing review! Richard and I really enjoyed meeting you both and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including the breakfasts!! We want to wish you both every success in your studies and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Keswick. Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA 124DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amble House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amble House to your Saves list