We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarn Hows Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tarn Hows Guest House to your Saves list
Tarn Hows Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 - 5 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After arriving for our 3 night stay for the Keswick mountain festival, we were welcomed from the start by Janet and Graham. They were happy to help us out with our very wet clothes from hiking and canoeing and also a place to change into and a cuppa after a race after we had checked out. Breakfast was lovely and also served with a smile. We stayed in room 4 which had a separate bathroom which suited us well, the room was cosy and comfortable and in a great location to the town, probably a 10 min walk and you were by the shops. Thank you both very much for making our weekend perfect. We will be back next year!! We have recommended the guest house to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    24
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
57
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Janet and Graham had taken over since I stayed last. I must say they were both very welcoming and my room was spotless, and a fair size for a single. Well appointed.
Breakfast, had plenty of choice, very enjoyable.

Thankyou, I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice guest house run by a very friendly and helpful couple. Great breakfast. Only gripe would be the bathroom on a lower floor (we had room 2) and a firmer bed than we are used to, but these did not spoil our stay at all. A small walk past the Church to the town centre made it a perfect location with plenty of parking available and the ability to leave the car for a while longer on check-out day to do last minute shopping. Recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I just want to say a big Thank You to Janet and Graham for being so kind and thoughtful when we stayed with them Fri 3 May to Mon 6 May. My husband had sciatica so had to stay in most of the day and Graham brought him a paper from the local shop as my husband couldn't even walk there. Another very thoughtful offer was for us to use his car to take my husband down to the town as we couldn't get our car out as unfortunately someone had parked behind us in the Car Park. The breakfast was fantastic, lots to choose from, cereals, yoghurts, grapefruit, Full English or many alternatives, best breakfast you could get anywhere. There were 8 of us altogether staying there and every one of us would recommend them.

Beautiful bedrooms and bedding to die for. Lovely quiet street with short walk to town for pubs and meals.

Good luck to you both.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. We booked three rooms and each were lovely, clean and spacious. Plus, it's located in a great spot - walking distance to shopping/pubs/restaurants. Breakfast was delicious too! Janet and Graham were wonderful hosts and really went above and beyond for us. I accidentally left my glasses behind in our room and they quickly mailed them back to me the next day. I highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the Keswick area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This trip was arranged by friends to celebrate a birthday and we went to the Lakeside Theatre which is just a 10 minute stroll. Also very handy for the centre of town.
The owners are very friendly and their attention to detail is obvious. Breakfast was good and the private lounge, referred to in previous reviews, was made available if we had wanted to use it.

We could have borrowed one of a number of umbrellas but we're from Yorkshire so didn't need to.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A lovely, clean and comfortable guest house in a very handy spot.
Friendly hosts who could not do enough for their guests,
and a lovely breakfast. Can't wait to return, and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarn Hows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn Hows Guest House

Address: 3 - 5 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn Hows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarn Hows is a traditional Victorian residence situated in a quiet location only a few minutes walk from the town centre, lake and all amenities. Keswick is the perfect base for your Lake District stay, and if you enjoy freshly- cooked local produce, comfortable, stylish and elegant accommodation with excellent service and hospitality, then Tarn Hows Guest House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Tarn Hows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarn Hows Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.