We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B and we will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunsford Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunsford Guest House
Save
You added Dunsford Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B and we will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Deb and Keith make a nice B&B into a wonderfull homely stay away from home. Nothing is too much trouble for them, be it bringing you a fresh cup of tea when you arrive to booking a restaurant in town for you so you don't have to fight with all the other tourists. Not to be out done, the room we had was warm, comfortable and had enough space such that you didn't feel like you were stuck in a prison cell. The bed was lovely and comfortable too, which is just what you need after hiking 21km's up Skiddaw and back.

We are already planning a return visit (subject to them having availability as they seem to be very popular!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
87
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We found the accommodation delightful and the hosts could not do enough for us. Little things like complimentary fruit in the room went a long way and Kieth and Deb deffinately go the extra mile. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I, stayed with my teenage daughter and her friend and had a great time. Firstly the location could not be better. Although a quiet street, at the end of it you are at the start of all the main shops and eating places. The rooms we stayed in had great views and nothing was spared in providing little extra's in the rooms (bottled water, sweets, fruit etc). The breakfast is more than adequate with a great choice (even a veggie option). The owner could not have been more helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Went back to our usual B & B for a long week-end break. We were greeted by new owners Debbie and Keith. They made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble throughout the week-end. Very clean with excellent usual en-suite facilities. Nice additional touches such as flatscreen TV/DVD and wireless Internet. Great breakfast with lots of choice. Faultless, looking forward to going back later in year.

Geoff and Shamila

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Having just spent a rainy weekend in Keswick we were lucky enough to be staying at Dunsford where we experienced a level of service that is so rare in our modern society. The owners could not be more welcoming, they gave advice helped with booking somewhere to eat and provided a breakfast fit for a king. My wife and I have experienced many a Hotel from great to poor and always had some reservations of stopping at a B&B but that has now been put to rest. The Grasmere room was spacious, warm, light and comfortable with a view to the fells and overlooking a quiet street. A two minute walk takes you into the centre just make sure you pack an umbrella. The next time we stay in Keswick will be a simple "Pick up the phone" and call the Dunsford.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Just stayed for 2 nights and what a find.
The Dunsford is in a quiet residential street just a very short distance from the main town centre with its own off street parking.
From the moment we arrived till the time we left the owner Deb was fabulous nothing too much trouble and very helpful. the rooms were bright airy and warm and above all immaculately clean with touches as mentioned by other guests adding to the experience, fruit, drinks, sweets etc all just add to the quality of service.
Breakfast was as good as any we have had anywhere if not better.
This place will become extremely popular i am sure......Book early.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed 1 night, wish it was longer. Hospitality above and beyond the norm. Will stay again and definitely advise a stay here. What a lovely brekkie also!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsford Guest House

Address: 16 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dunsford Guest House Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunsford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.