We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonard's Field House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leonard's Field House to your Saves list
Leonard's Field House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The host Neil and Theresa are lovely people very polite and cant help you enough, the breakfast was excellent and plenty of it, the rooms are very clean and the bed was very comfortable, the guest house is in a perfect location, couple of minutes walk to shops pubs and resturants. it is the first time we have been to Keswick and we will be going back as it doesnt only cater for walkers which is good, and theres plenty to do at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crosby on Eden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

excellent we went for our 10th wedding anniversry and neil and theresa were most helpful. even leaving a little card and box of chocs which were coeliac friendly of course! have just rebooked to go back as it was so delightful what a haven!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I did not book this guest house in advance and was therefore delighted to find vacancies when I arrived by chance. This is a very nice B&B; clean and well presented. Unfortunately they do not have single rooms for the solo traveller but offer a double/twin room at a single supplement. It is located very close to the town centre which has lots of good restaurants for lunches and evening meals. I have given this establishment 4 star (very good) instead of 5 (excellent) for the following reasons:

1. The hospitality tray did not offer decaf tea, decaf coffee or hot chocolate
2. The biscuits (on hospitality tray) were not replenished on day 2 and 3
3. Only fresh orange juice offered at breakfast (a choice would have been nice)
4. Good choice of cooked Cumbrian breakfast however alternatives such as fresh fruit and croissants would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Just stayed at Leonards Field for 3 days, what an excellent stay it was.
Having booked this guest house because they specialises in providing wheat free and Gluten free food I was not disappointed, in fact I was very impressed. Neil and Theresa were the perfect hosts noting was too much trouble for them. The Room was very clean with a large on suit shower room.
Fresh towels were provided every day. Breakfast was just brilliant. The reason I booked here was I’m a very sensitive coeliac, with Theresa being a coeliac herself they both have a very good understanding. There was a very good choice of breakfast cereal for coeliac’s and non coeliac’s and the great British breakfast was just superb with gluten free sausage.
In the kitchen there is a separate area for producing gluten free wheat free food. One other service they offered was a packed lunch which I had during my stay, must say it was excellent value for money, and total piece of mind when going out for the day.
There is no question we will definitely be going back this year, to what I would call a coeliac paradise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed at Leonards Field this Easter, having initially booked with another guest house but finding that booking failed, stayed here on a cancelled booking. Not having any idea what to expect we found Neil and Theresa very accomodating and friendly. Lovely quiet road, with no passing traffic, and very comfortable rooms. Good beds and bathrooms, excellent breakfasts,and supremely helpful patrons. Booked on a whim, but we have now booked to return in 6 weeks time. Very nice, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We were welcomed by Neil & Theresa on arrival, who own the B&B. We were shown to our room which turned out to be very comfortable with plenty of storage space and a TV + tea-making facilities.
The en-suite bathroom was clean and functional, with a cubicle shower and lots of hot water.
Breakfast is served downstairs nice and early, and was delicious, with fresh local ingredients.
We slept very well thanks to the double glazing and the heating was well adjusted for comfort.
We will certainly stay there on our next trip to the Lake District!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonard's Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonard's Field House

Address: 3 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonard's Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Leonard's Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonard's Field House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.