We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a museum about pencils...Don't expect the earth to move!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cumberland Pencil Museum

Cumberland Pencil Museum
| Southey Works, Keswick CA12 5NG, England
+44 (0)17687 73626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 49 things to do in Keswick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perfect all weather attraction for all the family. Discover Keswick's industrial heritage, be amazed at the World's Longest Coloured Pencil, artist demonstrations and workshops are held throughout the year. A full range of Derwent Fine Art pencils are available in the Museum shop, along with Sketchers Coffee shop serving light lunches and afternoon teas.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Its a museum about pencils...Don't expect the earth to move!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We went along but only because I'd never been and there was some kiddie drawing event on.

Parking was a few quid but you got £1 refunded with your entrance fee. Our kiddies were free but adults had to pay. I toyed with the idea of paying for an annual pass but to be honest, not sure how often we would go.

Yep its a museum about pencils. Quite interesting but if I hadn't had a 3yr old with me who wanted to see everything and draw with everything I could've been in and out in 10 minutes.

While we had some food in the cafe (which was ok) there was some watercolour pencil class on for kiddies which was nice.

The staff were very friendly and a credit to the place. We probably will go back when there's another event on for kids.

Its well worth going along to see if you're in Keswick but don't expect big things. Its a small place about pencils. You'll be disappointed if you expect anything else.

We liked it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    204
    64
    26
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pencil Junkie Delight!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you're a pencil junkie like me, you're going to find yourself in heaven. At least for an hour. Here, you see how pencils are made, the history, the materials, things that you'd not normally think about a pencil. A large collection of pencils, colour pencils, pen nibs and even a "war" pencil is on display. A large selection of Derwent pencils are available for sale. Ticket entry includes a souvenir pencil!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Colourific!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stumbled into the pencil
Museum one cold October afternoon with low expectations, as really how exciting could pencils be for 20-30 year old contiki travellers looking for exciting adventures.

Upon entering the museum I knew my expectations were wrong and I was in for a great afternoon of fun and frivolity.

The staff, Umay-zing!!! Knowledgeable, fun, energetic and ready to assist when needing help with fun pencil facts! Even taking time out of her lunch break to talk to us about the museum!

The pencils; big, medium and small all your pencil needs will be met! And can I say the world biggest pencil is mighty impressive

The quiz; difficult for a novice but ask the staff they are mighty helpful and may even give you a surprise if you can find all the answer.

My favourite part; the jubilee pencil :) absolutely stunning!!!

My biggest regret; Brad not buying the big scribbler because he was too much of a girl to carry it home!

All in all an awesome place :)


Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knaresborough in yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting visit when weather poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited today as weather dictated what we were able to do, had heard about the museum but thought what on earth would a museum about pencils interest us but it wasn't too bad although expensive for what it offered. The staff were very good and knowledgable but wouldn't particularly recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A very interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I must admit that a visit to a pencil museum does not sound particularly enticing but it just shows how wrong you can be. This is a lovely museum and is full of interesting exhibits, such as the 'secret pencils' manufactured during World War 2 and the diamond encrusted pencil given to the Queen (one of only two in existence - the Queen has the other one!) We learned many interesting things about the origins of graphite mining and pencil manufacture - the amazing fact that graphite was once more valuable than gold, for example. The staff were very helpful and clearly knowledgeable and the shop has an extensive range of pencils and art equipment as well as a wide variety of books on sale. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumberland Pencil Museum also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Cumberland Pencil Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumberland Pencil Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.