We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny En Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tiny En Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is not actually in Keswick, but in a place called Thirlspot, just north of Thirlmere on the A591. We stayed here over Easter on an Easy Break package. The hotel is an old coaching inn and has has plenty of character with low beams and panelled walls. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the room above the entrance which was a reasonable size and very warm, but the big problem was the lack of space in the en suite. The shower was very good but there was no room between the WC and the basin which made life very difficult.....! It appears many of the rooms are like this. To be fair this was the only problem we had. The views from the breakfast room up the valley were superb. The choice of items for breakfast was considerable and the quality of the food was very good. We had dinner each night and despite the fact that we were on an all-inclusive package there were no restictions on the choice from the menu and the meals were superb. The hotel is in a great location for low and high level walks. The snow made for an interesting adventure but it also added to the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: Watch out for the tiny en suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review following your stay at the King's Head.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the period features of the coaching inn. Unfortunately the small en-suites come as part and parcel of the 17th century building!

We hope you will return to enjoy the beautiful views once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    87
    45
    19
    23
See reviews for
30
114
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

On the hole the staff were very polite and friendly. (There let down was there responds to the poor food). The accommodation was good for the price paid; the position of the Kings Head was very good with regards walking as if you did not want to drive you could just set of and have plenty of varying walks at your feet.

The down side for me was against what I had researched with regards the food, it was not to be the three times I dinner there. The first meal The vegetables were very hard not as in Al dente but as in blanched. The second meal I thought was safe and went for the spiced hot pot .. But no it came on a hot plate but the tin dish and the hot pot were look warm. (For me I can eat anything and did) that’s not the point for most the meal was not as ordered HOT POT!!! Or spiced We ate out on the Saturday a very good curry The forth night We ate in again for convenience the first meal we wanted they did not have RAN OUT ok that happens. The meal we did have was ok In summery the food was overpriced and below normal pub standards.

Room Tip: Did not have a complaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Ian
Thank you for your comments following your visit to the King's Head.
I'm disappointed to read that some aspects of your meals were substandard. We continually strive to improve our menus and dishes and your feedback is very valuable to us. We will certainly use it to improve our product.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the situation of the Inn and the many lovely walks from the door. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed two nights with a late rooms discount offer. This lovely period building with panelled walls and real fires is cosy and welcoming. The staff were very nice and accomodating. Our room was at the far right of the building above the bar and was comfortable. My only quibble was that there was a very small bathroom with not enough leg room for the loo. After a hard days walk we needed showers before eating but there was no hot water. We were told later that a new hot water boiler is due to be installed and improvements made to the rooms starting at room 1 (we were in 12) If the water is left running it eventually got warm.
We ate in the bar on the first night. Food was tasty but very small portions more fine dining style andwe felt overpriced, if you are looking for a hearty meal after a long day on the fells this is probably not going to satisfy.
Breakfast was good but not spectacular, it did keep us fueled up for the day so can't complain.
On reflection it was reasonable value for the reduced rate we had but I would have been dissapointed paying the advertised rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Alan

Thank you for your lovely review. We like that you describe the King's Head as "cosy and welcoming" and that you enjoyed the real fires.

In response to your comment regarding the food portions; we offer small, medium and large portions on our lunch and dinner bar menu. I'm not sure which dish you ordered, however I can assure you that dishes like steak and kidney pie or fish & chips are large, hearty portions.

I’m pleased that you found your stay good value and hope that you return to The King’s Head soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I brought my husband here for his birthday weekend staying for 4nights and the fact we could bring our dog and she could come everywhere in the hotel with us was fantastic, the weather was terrible which of course is nobody's fault the snow was really bad.
When we arrived we checked in only to get to our room and find it hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupant leaving, we went back to reception and this was soon sorted. Our room was fine in size but the first night when we went back to our room it was absolutely freezing the radiator was barely warm, however we went to bed, after an hour and me having socks and a jumper on in bed I could take no more I went down to the reception and asked if there was a heater we could have as the room was absolutely freezing, one of the bar men came and bled our radiator but this didn't help, they did give us a heater which after a while did heat the room up considerably, had we have not been given this we would have definitely have asked for a refund and would have gone home early, speaking to other guests during our stay they all complained at how cold there rooms were too!!!!
Also we could o ly ever get hot water first thing in a morning and you had to leave it to run for at least 5mins for it to get really hot, personally after being out walking all day I would like to have been able to have a shower when we got back in the evening but there was never any hot water then, our ensuite was a good size but also freezing which didn't make for a pleasant experience each time you had a shower or needed the toilet, the food at the hotel was gorgeous we had a good selection at breakfast every morning and we chose to dine in the bar every evening every meal we had was delicious, the staff were all very friendly and helpful which is very rate these days they couldn't do enough for people and work very hard.
I must really insist that the owner look into the heating and hot water issues during the winter months as something really needs doing about it, it's a great hotel apart from being sooooo cold!!!!!!
I'd definitely come back but would wait until the summer months when it is warmer outside so then hopefully not tooooo cold inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, a snow weekend, walking and chilling. A great base close to the fells, Keswick n Grasmere. Food very nice, breakfasts good with plenty of choice. Room 4 is a four poster which is a great size and one of the few rooms with a deep bath. On the front so great views, albeit the road is busy with traffic noise. Staff very friendly n helpful certainly recommend it.
The place is a pub n restaurant too and has been recently refurbished and new management. Bar area has lost the traditional charm it used to have which was sad as it is rather contemporary now, however is still welcoming and worth a visit. No more roaring log fires but a good place to visit in the good weather!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A belated review - stayed 5 days over christmas 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very freindly, helpful and welcoming staff, excellent accommodation. Great base for going walking and on main bus route. Breakfasts were ok, only had one evening meal which was fine (although 'chips' only just made it into the plural!) and the beer was excellent. On the whole I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, sun or no sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Steve
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The King's Head over the Christmas period. We are glad to hear that you found the accommodation "excellent" and that the staff were "helpful and welcoming". We hope that you will enjoy sunshine on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent 4 day break in this delightful hotel. Delightful experience with good food, wines and excellent service from staff who were extremely helpful and pleasant. Room was very comfortable and clean. We were lucky with the weather - managed a sail on Ullswater and visited so many small villages and towns. Unfortunately cannot walk at the moment so missed out on what I'm sure would have been a great experience. Will be back again!

Room Tip: Most rooms face the main road but are quiet in the evening. Lovely views from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the King's. Hopefully you'll be mobile again soon and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.