We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, simple and filling food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, simple and filling food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at a local self catering place a few minutes walk away from the Hotel. We read the reviews and decided to eat there the even we arrived after our long drive up.

We were both impressed, The food was hot, freshly cooked and there was plenty of it.

The staff were mainly eastern european (by the sounds of their accents) but all spoke good english and were friendly and knowledgable about the food and (more importantly) the beers that were available at the bar.

We will definitely eat there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    88
    45
    19
    23
See reviews for
30
115
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We booked the hotel for our 5th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We had room 4 with the 4-poster bed and great views over the hills. The room and bathroom were big enough and the old fashioned shower and roll top bath finished the authentic touch. The only thing (as mentioned in previous comments) was the noise of the traffic on the main road. This cannot be helped and keeping the windows closed reduced the noise, but I’m not sure whether double glazing would be right for the look of the old windows.
The staff were great and very attentive, with great food and breakfast with plenty to choose from. Our first evening was spent in the restaurant as it was our anniversary, so the quiet atmosphere and candle light was cosy and romantic. We arrived there quite late on the Friday night so we were booked in for our meal at 8.45pm and they were still offering us desert at 9.45pm which was quite good of them. The second night we spent in the bar sampling the local ales and ordered our food from the same menu as the night before.
The room was very clean and made up each day. Regarding previous comments stating it was tired and dirty, I have been in 2 star to 5 star hotels and this was absolutely fine. It is not supposed to be some high class hotel. It keeps within its traditions of a coaching inn (for passers by wanting a roof and a bed for the night) with its old panelling and large fire place in the entrance area, but a modern restaurant and bar. It has a specialty local produce shop within the bar area and a large open space with a seating area to the front to take in the views. I would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway as it is right in the heart of the lakes with access to Grasmere, Ambleside, Keswick and the mountains.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for 4 poster room as it is away from the bar area and it has a large bedroom and bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

food pretty good, nice views, nice garden. If you book the four poster room it has a big victorian bath. Otherwise i am told shower room very small. Good location for local walks.
down side - very tired and in need of big refurbishment, not very clean, main road outside VERY noisy from 6am. No local charm or cosy bar etc.
Would not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our family of four were on holiday in the Lakes and we were feeling peckish and wanted a spot of Lunch. As we were driving along the A591 we spotted the Hotel/Restaurant and bar. We were warmly greeted with a smile by a member of staff from behind the bar. We enquired if we could bring our well behaved family pet cockapoo with us into the bar. We were answered greeted with "of course you may".

We ordered fours meals of Scampi and fries and Buffalo wings and Chicken and chips and gravy. These were served promptly and were piping hot and extremely tasty. The waiting on team was very attentive and polite.

The toilets were clean and in good working order. I always think you can tell how clean the place is by the way they reflect the toilets.

The bar area is bright and airy and well decorated. It had a lovely farm shop area with locally produced gifts.

We were asked how our meal was whilst dining and checked again when we went to pay. You could not fault the facilities, food or staff. We were all delighted we’d found such a little gem in the lakes!

If it’s a lovely day or evening they have large tables and chairs outside to enjoy drinks and food. The hotel/pub is surrounded by stunning scenery of Lakeland fells. Make sure you bring your camera – you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights but I wouldn't go back again ONLY because it was so close to the main Windermere to Keswick road. Food was good but the £14 for two courses was limited to starter and main, rather than main and dessert, which even the staff thought was daft. You order your food at the bar so don't expect someone to ask if you want anything else, you can ask them and they'll oblige, but they won't ask you first.
The staff were polite, helpful and their English was ok, just wish they didn't start hoovering at the same time as breakfast.
All the rooms overlook the main road with one rather creeky corridor serving the rooms. The rooms could do with a makeover and I lost count of the number of times my head collided with the light fitting in our room. The bathroom was pretty small but the shower was good and strong.
For a hotel set in an area renowned for walking, cycling etc, disappointed that there was not even any basic washing or drying facilities so our wet smelly muddy cycling kit got washed and slow dried in the bathroom, which stunk the bathroom out.
The Jennings beer served in the bar is excellent particularly the Sneck Lifter and the Steak & Kidney pudding is enough for two people, not sure why they served extra veg' with each main course as the portions were always on the large size. Have to agree with someone else's comment re steak, if you want medium, ask for well done, think if you ask for rare, the chef will cook it over a match !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had two evening meals THE KINGS HEAD and both were excellent with good service. It 's in a lovely setting an convenient to stop at if you've had a day out.
The main bar has been "gastro pubbed" so no more locals to listen to, which is a bit disappointing and the dining room needs updating but the food is so good it doesn't really matter. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

we ordered from the steak menu 2 courses for £13.95 good value i thought! Not however when it is the cheapest, nastiest cut of sirloin i have ever seen, and as a chef i've seen a few, both steaks we asked for medium and both were rare, cold and chewy!
The waitress spoke little english, never asked us if we were ok, would we like sweets a drink or even offer a spoon to eat our soup with!
All small things but adds up to annoyed customers who will not be back.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.