We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft

Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft
Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DJ, England
+44 17687 80145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 activities in Keswick
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We provide a range of canoeing and bushcraft activities to suit all ages, abilities and requirements - families, couples, individuals and groups are all welcome.Whether you choose a leisurely canoe session on Derwentwater, a fun-packed bushcraft day, or a week long classic canoe expedition in Scotland, we will ensure you have an incredible, unforgettable experience.Come visit our office, right on the shores of Derwentwater.Just a 3 minute walk from Keswick town centre. The kettle will always be on!For private coaching for small groups and individuals, please call us to discuss your requirements.Our aim is to deliver quality, hands-on, educational and fun outdoor experiences which give our customers a greater understanding and knowledge of our local area and the skills to enjoy the outdoor environment in a low impact way. All specialist equipment and instruction is provided, you just need to bring a sense of adventure!
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was the first time our 6 year twins had been canoeing and they had a fantastic time! They are still talking about it 2 months on. Our leader Shaun was lovely with the children and made the experience magical for them and us. We all felt very safe and were looked after extremely well too.
Within no time at all we were all paddling confidently, learnt how to stop and change direction and managed to make our way over to the Island on Derwentwater. There we had refreshments and a chance for some 'paddle games'.
The scenery was stunning and Shaun provided some great information and knowledge of the area.
As a family it was the best day of our holiday, we visit the lake district frequently, worth every penny, and we cant wait to come back to have a go at the bush craft day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
openboater2, Owner at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Sue, thanks so much for your comments, I have passed them on to Shaun accordingly. Please do stay in touch, hope the twins are well! Very best wishes. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

You won't find a better blend of adventure and tranquility than on one of Claire and Paul's expeditions. In the safe hands of such experienced Bush Craft Canoeists like Paul and Shaun, your'll be cruising Scotland's beautiful Loch and rivers with ease. The atmospheres always positive (even if the weather isn't) and the "workload" flexible, depending on what kind of trip your looking for... You can pick the instructors brains and learn a huge amount, or put your feet up and watch how its done.

All in all its a wonderful mix of exercise; fun, learning new skills and that "magic" of nature that can only be fully appreciated, in a canoe, camping wild.

These expeditions have opened up a new universe for me and have made me hungry to explore all of the worlds rivers. Even though its joy to have a warm shower in the hotel after all the weeks paddling, your'll find yourself missing the smokey campfire conversations and sounds of nature. These trips will stay with you, and insure you return to your everyday life feeling richer and refreshed (although physically tired;).


I cannot recommend Paul & Claire expeditions enough! I intend to do them all!:)


P.S. I also have to mention the food its superb! Don't worry about going hungry... Despite all the paddling, your more likely to put on weight than lose it;)

... oh, and then there the whiskey!!...!!!...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
openboater2, Manager at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Luke, We can't say how grateful we are for your review, and it really is just so very kind of you to say those comments. We hope we'll continue providing you with great experiences each time you book with us! See you for the Loch Shiel Exped in April 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Myself and a group of friends decided on a 'Ray Mears' style paddling trip for a 50th birthday celebration last month. We arrived in Keswick late am on the Saturday having swapped our planned trip from the Sunday due to impending storms!. We met our instructor Cedric and carried our canoes to the shore on Derwentwater, The sun was shining and the lake was shimmering. We crossed the lake, taking some good advice from our friendly and knowledgeable guide. On reaching the start of the river Derwent we pulled into an eddy for some more coaching. We then paddled down the gently flowing river, navigating a couple of small rapids with ease.The scenery was perfect as we slowly paddled through woodland and past Skiddaw. We stopped for a cup of tea, then navigated a weir, saw an osprey dive into the river just ahead of us, and then carried on till the exit point near Dodd Wood. We always felt safe and in good hands. All the communication with Claire has always been very friendly all the way from booking to post trip farewells. I thoroughly recommend this for any fans of the outdoors, it is a perfect way to travel and see the countryside from a different perspective.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
openboater2, Manager at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Mark, was great to deal with you throughout the booking, and i'm thrilled you had a great time. Perhaps you might like to do the Eden next time!!! stay in touch. Best wishes. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a fantastic morning with Paul on the water in Keswick. He was incredibly patient with the kids and made it fun and interesting despite the lousy weather conditions. We couldnt believe how quickly the time went and it was one of the highlights of our holiday. Highly recommended for families with young kids and teenagers as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
openboater2, Manager at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased you had a great time, thank you for booking with us. Stay in touch. Very best wishes. Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Grand day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great day island hopping and doing survival tasks. All the family enjoyed the day especially our daughters aged 8 and 10. Sean was an excellent guide who timed the activities to perfection. We cannot praise this company too much. We intend to use them again next year. Great value for money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
openboater2, Manager at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks John and family! I have passed on your comments to Shaun - I know he thoroughly enjoyed his day out with you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft to your Saves list